Back to Business

Because my work takes me to many locations, there are a few days a week where I do not return home until after 7 p.m. Because of this, I am really not in the mood to make a wholesome and nutritious dinner. It is more likely that we will get take out from our local seafood restaurant, or go to the local seafood restaurant, than it is me actually making a meal.

I don’t particularly like this. I love to cook! I fancy myself a gastronome, and love to taste different wines and come up with wine/food combinations that are pleasing yet adventurous. Did you know certain whites can stand up to steak? Many reds are complimentary to chocolate cake. Oh, but I digress…

The last couple of weeks have been enormously brutal. Even though this is the time of year where business should be dying down, I seem to have several projects on the back burner. It’s become hard for me to remember where I am and what I am doing.

At my age, I like to compartmentalize my life. I like to play music at certain times of the day; this way I know I will practice. I also started working out at certain times of the day. Writing is the same, and I love writing during the late afternoon. If I don’t set up some sort of a schedule, then my life tends to careen out of control. (Of course, eating and drinking are not on a schedule, and perhaps they should be.)

Well, obviously the lack of control has happened yet again. I have managed to stay true to my writing and musical schedule, but somehow my working out schedule has suffered. I know this, because after two weeks, I can barely fasten my pants.

So, today after writing, it will be back to business. Back to working out. I will turn up the frequency as punishment, and hope I don’t pass out from exhaustion.

3 Responses

  1. I’m fine with you leaving your pants off.

  2. Ha! I wish you could see the laugh I just blurted out!

  3. I saw this last night and laughed too. In fact, maybe it even influenced some of MY dreams. I’m so tired though that I can’t remember those dreams!

Leave a Reply

