Sick Children are Sick Children No Matter What Age

My daughter is almost an adult. At 17, she believes she is a grown woman. I would dispute her theory, except that at the same age, I also believed I was a grown woman. When you’re that age and hold a conviction that strongly, there is nothing anyone can do or say to change your mind.

My daughter is a typical teenage girl. She can be mouthy and sarcastic (obviously getting that from me), and sometimes she’s obstinate and ornery. She pushes, and I pull. If I say yes, she will no doubt say no. If I suddenly like something she likes, she will immediately hate it.

Yesterday, my almost grown daughter flopped on my bedroom floor at 6:30 a.m. and declared herself too sick to go to school. She’s normally healthy but she did look a bit pale and gray. My usual stand on illness is to say “get tough and stick it out” but I could tell she was too ill to listen.

Today my almost grown daughter called me from school. She didn’t even make it to lunch time before she threw up. I gave the okay for her to come home, and then ran to the store to purchase the obligatory chicken soup and Sprite.

When I got home, she was already under a thick sleeping bag and looked completely out of it. I prepared her can of soup (I’m sure I’ll catch hell someday for not making it from scratch) and set that, some crackers, her Sprite and a trash can nearby. She looked at  me with one eye open and said, “Thank you, Mommy.”

Her need in a moment of weakness endeared her to me.

Sick children are sick children no matter what age.

7 Responses

  1. I understand the weakness. Does that translate to your spouse as well? On the rare occasions my wife is hung over and/or extremely ill, I become a pantless Florence Nightengale, cooking green pea porridge (a cure-all) and tending to her ailment.

  2. Ahhh! I’m sorry she’s sick but at least she’s not in the I’m-sick-so-I-can-get-away-with-being-a-bitch mode. I hate it when they do that.

    Chicken soup is good even if it comes from a can but my tip is to buy the canned stuff and add a little of your own love to it. Maybe some leftover veggies from the fridge or some spices that will spruce it up?

  3. Yes, exactly. Nothing is more endearing than a teenager who needs mommy. Thank god, or we’d probably be forced to kill them before they reach adulthood.

  4. Awww, that’s sweet. Almost as heartwarming as my mother pushing medicine through my mailbox for me last week.

  5. I cannot get into tending a spouse who is hungover. In fact, it usually makes me quite angry. However, if the spouse has some disease or just threw his back out for the umpteenth time, I can definitely relate and put on the nurse’s uniform.

    Last night, the boyfriend came by and took over the nursing duties.

    I’m still chuckling over David’s mother pushing medicine through his mailbox. I’m afraid I’m not that maternal!

  6. Of course, you know I have the greatest of sympathy for your youngster and understand entirely how the sickness of a child makes them become ever so sweet. I agree with the ‘not much sympathy’ for hungover spouses philosophy (even from the point of view of the hungover spouse).

    Yesterday, a friend told me a joke about nurses. I’m reminded of it. A very old man is in the hospital. A sexy young nurse comes to his bed and says “I’m here to give you super sex.” The old man looks up and says, “Oooh. Thank you. That’ll be just great!”

    “I’ll have the soup.”

  7. 😛

    That was a very bad joke!

Leave a Reply

