Dreaming of Writing

This year, I decided to sign up for Nanowrimo (National Novel Writing Month). I’ve had a couple of ideas in the hopper, so I thought I would take the time to really work on them for a change. One is a chick lit novel about a middle aged woman much like me who has floated through a suburban life when she gets dumped into a rough set of circumstances and finds she has to be strong for herself. The other is about a girl who narrowly misses becoming a statistic. Her life has been a roller coaster of ups and downs, and she struggles to stay sane despite it all.

For the last couple of nights, I’ve been dreaming of writing. I don’t know what it means. Monday night, I dreamt of a completely different book, one set in western Michigan about a hundred and fifty years ago. Names, places and situations came to me. I felt the dream lasted a couple of hours, and it played out before me like a really sappy movie from the 1940s.

I also dreamt last night of my first attempt at writing a novel. This was started about 20 years ago, and was about a woman working in a post office who is held captive by someone who has “gone postal.” (This was before going postal was the thing disgruntled postal workers did.) When I started writing this one, I had only an antique Remington manual typewriter, and it was murder to type. I have the first hundred pages somewhere, probably buried in a box in the basement.

I think these dreams are the direct result of me finishing about 3,000 words of the writing challenge. I scramble to write down my recollections and impressions, but like many dreams, the memories of them evaporate too quickly.

Back to the drawing board…

7 Responses

  1. Write them down as soon as you can.

    Hey, have you thought that maybe you can use bits and pieces of these different novels for one? Say perhaps the suburban lady that is left to fend herself will think back on a time she dreaded, like when she was younger and worked in a Post Office-like place? Then you could use elements from both of those for one. Maybe in the process she will unearth some letters from a person in the way distant past, enter the dream about vintage W. Michigan.

    Remember Uncle Walt said, “If you can dream it, you can do it.”

  2. Great ideas…

  3. I’ve kinda hit the wall myself. Better get back to it.

  4. I don’t think I’ll enter into that particular kind of serious procrastination project until I’m done another project. Though, you know, I will ready your novel — OK — I’ll start it anyway. I find reading large quantities of stuff on screen to be difficult and I really like the feel of books better than printed stuff. I tried reading David’s but couldn’t maintain reading it. Reading 8 1/2 by 11 sheets felt too much like work.

  5. I think writing is like some other things, in that the more you do it the more you want to do it. 🙂

  6. oooh! me too! I’ve been having all sorts of weird dreams about writing, since starting NaNo… I try to write them down as soon as I wake up. Problem is that doesn’t count torwards my daily word count, and I still have to write the 1,667 words for my NaNoNovel as well.

  7. Ooo. No new post. Oh well.

    I’m saying “Hi” and “I adore you” anyway.

    Hi.

    I adore you.

Leave a Reply

