An Unlikely Source of Inspiration for NaNoWriMo

I receive a lot of email from all over the place. I’m happy to say that most of my mail comes from friends. I also subscribe to a few newsletters, real estate reports and postings, and other items of interest.

One of those is called the “Sales Caffeine” by Jeffrey Gitomer. Gitomer is a motivational speaker, and his line of work is sales. While my business deals more with a one-time sale, I find his books and the newsletter full of ideas that I can easily convert to practical use in my business and personal life. If anyone wants to investigate more, you can click  here.

One of the short articles in today’s newsletter pertained to business and personal success. As I read the following list, I thought it really pertained to writing, especially writing a novel. 

“And if you look at the story of John Patterson, the elements become much more clear. Here they are…

  • An idea you believe will work.
  • Clear vision of what it takes to win. “A definite major aim,” to quote Napoleon Hill.
  • Seeing the opportunity and grasping it.
  • The courage to see through the tough times.
  • The risk tolerance to see obstacles as temporary.
  • Decisiveness about the day and the issues you face.
  • Good people to help you.
  • Knowledge of what you’re doing. And a willingness to learn what’s new.
  • Wisdom from others who have done it.
  • True desire to succeed beyond money.
  • Love of whatever it is you’re doing. “

I’ve been diddling with my novel since the end of January, and am trying to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. I thought these sentiments of attaining business and personal success apply to my attempts at writing.

Woo-ie! I feel energized! Back to the salt mines!

2 Responses

  1. Salt mines indeed! I have work to do at work today. Curses.

  2. Remember:

    Hang in there when the writing gets tough.
    And …
    “It’s only temporary.”

    The rest is cake with writing!

Leave a Reply

