Economic Tightrope

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving. This should be a good thing. All of us should take the time to be thankful for what we have.

Yesterday, however, put a bit of a damper on what’s usually a festive holiday. I ran into a woman at the store, whose daughter is a friend of my daughter’s. We stopped and chatted for quite a while. She was bemoaning the fact that Christmas was going to be a little lean this year. She had lost her job in September, and her husband was just informed that if he didn’t relocate to Texas, he would likely lose his job as well. This woman has an elderly mother that she takes care of, and a daughter in college and another entering college next year. At our age, we do not need problems like this.

Later in the afternoon, I received a frantic phone call from another friend who lives in a county north of mine. She was sobbing and told me she will very likely be homeless in sixty days, because she can’t refinance their house. She tried, but her house was appraised at much less than it was worth a year ago. The appraisal came in at lower than her current loan amount, so they will not be able to get a new loan. She has tried for months, but can’t find a job. Her husband works, so they make too much to get any kind of assistance from the state. I’ve helped this friend financially in the past, as much as I am able. I now feel helpless, because I’m no longer able to help her as I did in the past.

I understand and sympathize with these two people. They are but a small representation of a failing economy. Things are tough all over here, and they are for our family, too. Right now, we are still doing fairly well, but we never know what tomorrow may bring. We may be in the same sorry position six months or a year from now.

The economic tightrope is a tough one to walk.

6 Responses

  1. That is a tough pill to swallow, and I have several friends walking a very thin line right now. The only good thing is that seasonal employment is picking up here at e-toys, and some of the stores, so maybe everyone will find a way through the holidays at least.

  2. Indeed. That totally sucks. I have no clever solutions either.

  3. Lottery?

    No, I’m just kidding. This is so sad.

  4. I used to live in a very economically depressed area. It took a long time (20 years) to turn around. I don’t have any answers. You can’t get back the one trillion dollars the government badly spent.

  5. Wow Pan, that sucks. Counting my blessings….

  6. Me, too. Me, too. 😦

Leave a Reply

