I Am Tone Deaf

Well, I’m not really tone deaf. But if you think for a moment I have perfect pitch, you’d be ever so wrong.

I think it’s amazing that most people can’t hear their own voice. I know what my voice sounds like, and it’s not pretty. I’m sure that if I were a little more nuts, I’d be right up there with most of the better known psycho-bitches, such as Lorena Bobbitt, Imelda Marcos or my own mother. In my job, I speak to people on the phone all the time. Most people who know my phone voice think I’m blond. They also think I am a foot taller than I am. When these people meet me, the first thing they say, after they look at me with perplexed glances, is “Oh, I thought you were taller. And blond.”

I’ve been trying to teach myself different pitches. For the last three years, I’ve taken an instrument and struggled with notes and sounds. My lack of progress is almost embarrassing. Other members of my family are musicians, and they are wonderful musicians. They are the kind of musicians who can play from the heart. I am having a hard time playing from my sheet music. The happy note gene seems to have skipped my DNA helix.

This is hard to imagine, since I love music so much. I love listening to all kinds, and I’m forever enthralled with those who can make music so effortlessly. Musicians are certainly tuned into the sound of the world. They’re special people. I long to make that kind of music. Unfortunately, my body is old and my head is full of false notes. So, when it takes others a hike into the park for a picnic, I spend the rest of my life climbing up Mt. Everest, one step a day. I might not make it to the top.

I guess it’s the journey that’s important, not the destination.

7 Responses

  1. If the journey is worth it to you, then yes. I wouldn’t take the journey just for the sake of doing it.

  2. Just saying hi! I’m soooo far behind on my reading.

  3. I don’t know much about music. I don’t have a good ear. I could never play an instrument because of this, however I do appreciate what you’re saying and I agree, too. It’s the journey that’s important, not the destination.

    With me, it’s writing. NaNoWriMo is an awesome experience to me. It matters not that my novel will never see a printing press but I had a great time writing it!

  4. Tell me about it! Everybody in my family sings and asks me to shut up when I open my mouth. It is so bloody unfair that some of us can sing and some of us just can’t and no one lets us forget it!

  5. According to my pianist son, who couldn’t sing to save his soul before he went to college, EVERYONE can learn to sing. He was required to take a theory class where he HAD to sing. However, it takes a lot of practice and diligence. At first, they all laughed at him, but he can sing now! I’m thinking that’s the same with taking an instrument.

  6. Yeah. It takes a huge amount of practice. I think it takes the kind of patience that kids have and is hard for adults to have.

    You and Corina are totally right. The journey is what matters. That’s a big part of why I like live shows more than canned stuff. Live music always has warts but being there is different from not.

  7. I learned a long time ago that it is about the journey, and it’s my journey. So I just run along making my own damn happy noise, the nay-sayers don’t have to listen.

Leave a Reply

