A Most Pleasant Surprise in My Email

My daughter, who can be both the apple of my eye and a thorn in my side, depending on her mood, has been applying to various colleges for next year. She’s excited about “getting the hell outta here” as I think she should be. It’s exhilarating to be on the cusp of adulthood. I remember those days well. What did Britney Spears say? “I’m not a girl, not yet a woman?” My daughter sets the high bar for being almost there.

Most of the applications have been online, and I’ve been helping her. This is not because I’m a helicopter parent. I like for my kids to experience life on their own. However, for one thing, I’m not letting the girl have access to my credit card number. Bad things can happen if you do that. For another, she’s dyslexic and can’t spell to save her soul. The online applications do not have a spell-check feature. (What did we do before spell-check?)

She’s applying to a couple of colleges that require essays. Like many students with not much writing experience, she was fearful about producing essays. As I did with her older brother who also had a learning disability, I told her to write them and then have me edit them when she is finished.

Last night, she worked on her essays feverishly. Two of her applications are due today, and the clock was ticking. While making dinner, I couldn’t even have a conversation with my husband two rooms over, because she was trying to concentrate and we were “distracting” her. Finally, after a flood of tears, we retreated to the second floor where she could write in peace.

Today, I opened my email and was pleasantly surprised with her essays. Both were in excellent condition, and needed only a little tightening of grammar and some homophone correction. I could tell she wrote them from her heart. She described her musical experience and related her journey regarding her dyslexia and ADD. I was so moved, in fact, I was almost in tears!

I’m always pleasantly surprised to find gems like this one in my child.

8 Responses

  1. Gems are awesome Pan! (But you get a time out for quoting Brit Brit).

  2. Nice!

    We had “student led conferences” (the politically correct term for what used to be called parent-teacher interviews) yesterday.

    I was approaching them with some trepidation knowing that my kids are sometimes naughty. However, they went well. The new music teacher and I hit it off fabulously. Next term is going to be totally fun!

  3. I know. I should be flogged for quoting Britney.

    My kids also had “student led” conferences. I think it was a new idea about ten years ago. I can’t remember much about it. Good news is good news, and bad news is bad news. It doesn’t matter who’s delivering it.

  4. Yep. I do think that it is good having the kids there. That way they get to hear what is being said about them and they get to find out what we (parents and teachers) think is important. They didn’t used to do that.

    Oh. And, I completely sympathize with the “not being allowed to even talk because we’re being too distracting”. Sure, we don’t get that every day…it hasn’t happened since Tuesday.

  5. Oh, that is so awesome!

  6. Kind of makes you realize that she’s ready to go off on her own and that she’ll do fine, doesn’t it? 🙂

  7. I think that’s lovely. I imagine you’re looking forward to seeing all the unexpected ways she blossoms as she finds herself in adulthood.

  8. Wonderful! It’s okay to cry a little when they take off, as long as you cheer when they fly.

Leave a Reply

