It Sucks to Get Old

I am just waiting for fifteen minutes so I can go to the doctor to have my back looked at.

Two weeks ago, while bending over a box of Christmas ornaments, I felt serious slippage of vertebrae in my lower back and collapsed into a crying mess on the couch. I could barely move for two days. Now, I can move, but I can’t sit down for longer than an hour or so without being in mortal agony. I’ve tried minor stretching exercises, reclined on heating pads and got on the treadmill for twenty minutes, but nothing is helping.

I don’t know what the doctor is going to do, but I hope she does more than sympathize. I need painkillers! Therapy! Something!

All I can say is that it sucks to get old.

9 Responses

  1. Chiropractor

  2. Thanks. I thought of that myself but we don’t have insurance, so I’ve been putting it off.

  3. Gee, insurance pays for chiropractors?

  4. We only get limited benefits for chiropractic treatments. I think only the first $200 are covered automatically. Of course that’s in Canadian dollars.

    You know what I really like about being old? Now that I’m old, I’ve become wise. I’m still not mature enough to act on my wisdom but just having it is fun.

  5. Every day is a new fun filled exercise in counting my new ailments. This aging thing isn’t very enjoyable. Just look at your article and my comment. Next thing you know, we’ll be talking about our bowel movements.

  6. Every day is a new fun filled exercise in counting my new ailments. This aging thing isn’t very enjoyable. Just look at your article and my comment. Next thing you know, we’ll be talking about our bowel movements.

  7. Poor thing! I hope you got something to help.

    (I bent over to pick a piece of paper up off the floor today, and felt my spine pop all the way up. It’s either going to feel great in the morning or really hurt.)

  8. I’m hoping you have a great morning.

    Actually, after a dose of flexoril, I feel much better. Let’s see how long I can sit down at my computer. That would be the true test.

  9. I know how you feel. After my accident I cannot sit or stand or walk or even lay down for a prolonged period of time. I have to change positions or I will end up on pain killers and/or in agony for days. Not fun.

Leave a Reply

