Travelers and Nesters

I was reading someone else’s blog, and then an email he sent about venturing to some exotic land on Christmas break. This would be to another place from the already exotic land where he resides as an expatriate. People who live in distant lands seem like the voyageurs of old to me. They hop into their canoes and take off to wherever the wind blows them, without a second thought. There’s something enchanting about a lifestyle which is free and open.

I also know of people who are more than content to stay in their homes, in their cities, within their small circle of friends and relatives, and never stray far away from what is their common ground. They revel in the comfort of familiar surroundings. No matter what you do, you cannot get them to budge very far from their nests. Arguments, enticements, none of that works.

I don’t know what I am. I’m not the person who would choose to live in a foreign land and take the unfamiliar as my new nest. Sometimes travel scares me. The world is huge and there’s a lot out there that is still unknown and dangerous. I know that fear sometimes keeps me in a snug and safe place.

On the other hand, I sometimes try to brave the unknown and experience new cultures, tastes and ideas. Perhaps it’s because some of my ancestors were voyageurs that I yearn for the adventures in traveling. Their hardy blood courses through my veins, though diluted and weak. Every so often, I have to break away to encounter a bit of imbalance to strengthen my psyche.

A nest shouldn’t be a prison, but a place for a traveler to come home to.

7 Responses

  1. My parents came from far away to settle here in (strangely) Ohio. I have a sense of wanderlust I know I inherited from them. I feel comfortable leaving my nest, but I also love coming back to it.

  2. I watch AR “with” my internet kid, and love it. Sometimes I think I’d love to travel to strange countries, particularly if I didn’t have to do potentially humiliating things to move ahead in a contest. I think one of the great things about the net is getting little sips of foreignosity, the ability to enjoy “travel” in our armchairs.

  3. Yes.

    But, there’s something even more important: one must change what one thinks about. In my daily life, I encounter people who have traveled and yet all of their degrees are in the same subject: they have grown an ever narrowing their field of view.

    One can expand one’s horizons from home or traveling. Traveling is only worthwhile if one sees the new things at the new place.

  4. I use to be a traveler, but now am a nester. It’s nice to go visit, but at the end of the day I want my own bed.

  5. I like to travel, experience, learn new places. I also have an anchor, though, or a string that attaches my heart to the place where I was born. It’s okay when I know I’m coming back to it (or near it)… but I think the string would pull too hard if I were to try to live somewhere else permanently.

  6. I guess I must be feeling like I need to go somewhere. It happens every so often. But, coming home to your own bed is a good thing.

  7. Given the opportunity, I would be a traveler and not settle any place, just live in a place for a year or so then move on.

Leave a Reply

