A Short Rest at The Garlic House

Today is Sunday, a day I use to catch up on chores.

Since having workmen in my house on and off for a couple of months, with the end just a pinprick of light in the tunnel, I have been cleaning the house by myself. Yes, usually I have help, but I can’t see paying someone to do deep cleaning when there’s a cloud of dust being kicked up every couple of days. Better to wait until construction is over and done and then do a bang up job.

Sunday is also the day I cook – a lot. It’s the day I make brownies and cookies to send to the prodigal son. I also make an extraordinary dinner, something that requires me to put some energy and thought into the preparation. I love cooking in this fashion. I am a food snob, and think that food should be a joyous and creative nourishment, and not just something to satisfy the hole in the stomach. This is why I rarely eat at fast food establishments. There’s not much about fast food one can savor. Both my husband and I tend to gravitate toward the adventurous when it comes to dining.

For an appetizer, I am going to make oysters rockefeller, which is always a taste treat. For dinner today, I’m making a roast pork, which has spent the morning marinating in pureed garlic, oil, rosemary and thyme. Then I will cover the roast in pancetta.

Sunday is also the day I make roasted garlic. Roasted garlic is a great additive to mashed potatoes or vegetable side dishes. I use this day because most of the other occupants of the house are absent. My husband has an unnatural love for garlic, but my daughter, who sticks her nose up at just about everything, claims that she does not share in the love. So in addition to the roast oozing garlic from every crevasse of the roast, I also have garlic slow roasting in the oven.

Many people do not appreciate the overwhelming yet interesting nature of garlic, and are a bit put off when I subject them to our garlic house. Not that I care too much.

Much as I love garlic, the aroma right now is quite overpowering. That’s why I’m upstairs typing instead of downstairs. When the garlic softens and becomes mellow, I’ll go back to cooking.

9 Responses

  1. This reminds me of the old days, when people actually did “Sunday dinner”. I, too, am a food snob. I make a meal every night, even if I am home alone. If I do not have a true dinner, I feel I haven’t eaten.

    Oddly, I am making a roast pork loin tonight as well. Great minds do think alike.

  2. I love garlic. Garlic is the bomb diggidy.

  3. There’s no such thing as too much garlic. (Unless you’re one of the Undead.)

  4. And it keeps the vampires away!

  5. It’s also rather healthy, or so I hear. The downside is sleeping next to a person who has eaten so much garlic, it is oozing from pores. This doesn’t make for sexual excitement, if you catch my drift.

  6. When I first started dating my sweetie, the grown-ups who were trying to run our lives had the idea that we would be less likely to engage in teenage reproductive activities if we’d been fed loads of garlic. I don’t know that it worked quite as they planned. The non-reproduction was non-reproductive because both of us had been indoctrinated about the benefits of birth control. We found that the fact we’d both had lots of garlic canceled that disadvantage out (or maybe hormones at that age are so extreme that nothing could have prevented our behaviour).

  7. I love garlic! It has tons of health benefits, and it keeps fleas off the dogs.

  8. Many eons ago, a study was done in the city of Gilroy, California which has the distinction of being the Garlic Capital of the World. Over a two year period, residents of Gilroy had a much lower rate of colds than anywhere else. The conclusion was that it was a benefit of the garlic in the area.

  9. I’ve got to go there!

Leave a Reply

