My Daughter is a Slob

After the tears of yesterday, regarding her rejection from a college which she didn’t really want to attend (!), my daughter must have taken an extra Adderall and came home last night on a tear to do Christmas decorating.

I’ve already decorated, with two trees and my wreath on the door, but it’s been many years since I dragged out all of my Christmas accoutrements. I don’t have time, and with only one child at home who is practically an adult, it’s just not as much fun as it used to be.

She was buzzing around the house wanting to know where the hammer was, and why was the garland so long? (It’s that long because we had a much bigger staircase at the other house.) I reminded her to clean up after herself. Her boyfriend was here too, and I was hoping that some of his common sense would rub off on her.

It didn’t.

This afternoon, I had to go up into the attic to put away some Christmas wrapping paper, and found that everything that was once neatly put into bins is now all over the attic floor.

I’ll probably yell when she gets home. I just don’t get it; I’m not a slob, and her father is pretty anal about keeping the house neat. Our house doesn’t look like one from out of the pages of Town and Country, but I like to keep the common areas reasonably tidy. I don’t know where the messy gene came from, but she’s definitely got a serious dose of it.

I’ve been nagging her about trying to stay a bit more organized. If and when she goes to college, her roommates are not going to appreciate a bathtub full of hair and dishes with food caked on them.

Maybe moving away will have a positive effect. I certainly hope so.

12 Responses

  1. It’s probably the rebellion thing, Pan. Whatever you do, she must do the opposite.

    At 33, my daughter is finally neat. At least in the areas that other humans can see.

  2. I’m thinking that I want to become a slob. I’m tired of picking things up and the thing I’ve noticed is that the amounts of stuff seem to be increasing. This is not at all right. They aren’t getting better at organizing things. They’re getting better at making messes.

    On the other hand, most of their bodily fluids end up in the toilet these days. Maybe I should feel cheerful about that.

  3. We have both of Hubby’s daughters here right now. I must say, “Don’t leave me mess to clean up!” a thousand times a day.

  4. They’re attention span doesn’t extend to cleaning up after themselves, Pan!

  5. Yeah… especially when they are ADD.

  6. Sometimes I wonder about ADD. OK. My kids don’t have that at all. They’re able to focus for hours and hours and hours but all too often on things that I don’t want them to focus on.

  7. But in college, the staff takes care of dishes and bathrooms. So she won’t have to worry. 🙂

  8. OMG David! Yes. I remember my first year. They did that. Sort of. I remember cutting into a “steak” with a plastic knife and all of the serrations coming off into the “steak”. The food was enough that I decided that I really liked anything not made by them (for example, it was that year that I started gobbling mushrooms) and really understood the advantage of washing dishes: it meant that someone who cared about me (possibly me) had cooked the food.

  9. Hmm… they really clean up after the kids? Maybe college is not such a good idea.

  10. They mopped up the cafeteria and they vacuumed the hallways.

    There’s a reason that I don’t think about having lived in that oppressive place very often: I like being cheerful more than dwelling on crap in the distant past.

    I think college is a good idea. Some dorms are really well run places. The one at Waterloo has a great reputation. The one I was in didn’t. As far as I know, only one person from my floor went to prison that year. So, I guess it wasn’t really all that bad.

  11. Ah yes, I have two slobs, one of whom is also ADD, and is supposed to be going away to university next year. To be honest, I was an awful slob as a teenager, too. You really do learn eventually… my house is quite reasonably neat now. I feel your pain, though.

  12. I feel like I could have written your letter. My daughter is a senior in high school and I am worried that no one will want to room with her after one semester of college, having to step around her messes or having to pay to fumigate. We decided last year that there were more important battles to fight , so we have let her live in her filth (in her room anyway). She does have good qualities though such as she is a wonderful and creative cook. Oddly enough, she makes jokes about needing a roommate that hates to cook but loves to clean up. Is that a good sign?

Leave a Reply

