The Best WordPress Post

No, it’s not one of mine. Contrary to popular belief, I’m not that full of myself.

No, I would have to say the Best WordPress Post Award should go to MimiSuzy’s Tour of Sam’s Club.

In fact, I’m thinking MimiSuzy should post this wonderful tribute on Associated Content and get some big bucks.

This is the kind of post that grabs your attention. There are plenty of photographs of a spotlessly clean and brilliantly lit store. There’s helpful text that accompanies each photograph.

Perhaps I am prejudiced, because my own local Sam’s Club is my absolute favorite spot for brick and mortar shopping. For every place else, I turn on my computer.

Where else can you get a smorgasbord of tasty delights – for free? Of course, you have to time your visit so that you can maximize all of the samples on the big sample days, like Saturday and Sunday. It can be done. I’ve seen entire families take advantage of the wonders of frozen food.

Where else can you buy books for $3.81? A $3.81 book is a bargain! Who cares if it’s a tawdry romance novel? These are the types of books one needs on long trans-continental flights.

Where else can you get a huge whole rotisserie chicken for less than $5? They are not only a thrifty purchase, good for you but also delightfully yummy.

Where else can you buy a cashmere sweater for $19? I wore mine until they were threadbare. Or how about a broomstick skirt for $5? Again, I wore mine for years, until they went out of style.

The secret to Sam’s Club is in the pricing. Anything ending in “.81” is a clearance item. Things can be regularly priced one day, and on sale the next. Clearance items can pop up like mushrooms after a hard rain. One day last month, I happened to stop by for a coffee maker to replace one my husband destroyed, and found they were selling jumbo jars of cocktail sauce for .52 cents. We use a lot of cocktail sauce, and even if we didn’t, fifty-two cents is less than a cup of coffee.

Sam’s Club. It’s a glittery palace of consumption. Check it out!

10 Responses

  1. I never thought of putting something like this on AC. I’ll check it out in the next day or so.

    Busy lady lately!

    Thanks for the kudos!

  2. Yes! Yay to mimisuzy, and yay to Sam’s…and yay to smart Pan!

    Don’t forget to see about Propeller too, Ina…

  3. Yay mom!

    BTW, I’m going to do a series of posts about all my fav bloggers. I’ll let you know when yours’ is up.

  4. Yay for all of us! Thanks, Wanda!

  5. I was in a Sam’s Club once about 10 years ago and can only remember it was cavernous. There is supposed to one opening about 20 miles from us soon. Cashmere for $19? You got my attention. Yes, her review of Sam’s Club was a page-turner, well, whatever that would be in internet terms.

  6. As a soon to be stock-holder of the “Big Evil Corporate Giant”, Thank you! 😉

  7. What I don’t get is why people are up in arms about the place. We get good deals. The employees I know have been working there a long time, some over 20 years. If they are slave holders, why would people work there so long? And they’re always cheerful too.

  8. Wherever I get the cheapest diapers is where I shop. Evil or not. If you’ve got the lowest prices on Huggies I’m there.

  9. We have a woman in the store who’s been working for the company for 28 years.

    They had a lot of problems shortly after Sam Walton died. Some stores were making employees catch up work off the clock, hiring illegals and working them to death for minimum wage, and locking people in for inventory. After some pretty serious trouble with the EEOC they straightened things out. Now they religiously avoid even looking like they might be doing something wrong.

    Sometimes it’s a bit of a pain. If I help someone on my way out at the end of the day, I have to turn in a time adjustment the next day so I get paid for it or I can lose my job.

    I do know there’s not another retailer out there who would pay the kind of money I’m making, plus benefits, for the job I do.

  10. Strange. When I saw the title, I thought of this post.

Leave a Reply

