Attack of the Lazies

There are many things I should be doing. My bird cage needs cleaning. It’s warm out now, and I should pick the dead leaves and frozen-then-thawed tomatoes out of my garden area. I have three or four things I’m writing about that I should finish. I have a couple of jobs that I should work on. I should work out. I should throw the mystery food out of my refrigerator. I should make an appointment to see my dentist, something I’ve been putting off for two years because even though he’s nice, he scares me. I should do the laundry. I should also clean out my son’s old room and the spare bedroom, where we had guests over the holidays. I should wash my car. I don’t think I’ve washed it in over six months. Every time I go to do it, it rains or snows. I should do a hundred other things.

I won’t though.

I’ve been attacked by the lazies.

I’ve always been in awe of the hyperactive. Human dynamos amaze the crap out of me.

It’s not because I’m not organized that I don’t get everything done. I’m the Queen of Organization. It’s not that I’m stupid. While I’m not the smartest person on earth, I’m fairly intelligent.

I have to blame my lackadaisical attitude on a virus. It’s the only thing left.

11 Responses

  1. I feel for you. I’m so out of it today that I don’t even feel like reading blogs. I’m going to go sit in my burgundy chair and get lost in a book until it puts me to sleep. I guarantee that will happen.

  2. I’m blaming my torpor on January…and germs….and the very uninspiring mud.

  3. I knew it! There IS a lazy virus…

    Now I have a headache. My daughter is throwing a tantrum. I wish she would get the lazies too.

  4. I prefer blaming the orbital mind control lasers. Not only does their very name indicate that they are prone to causing laziness (by sound, not spelling) but it is a trivial matter quash any disagreements. If someone doesn’t believe that that is one of the things they do, then that is proof that that person’s mind is under orbital laser control.

  5. I don’t like this alias. It is irritating.

  6. I like that! I’m not really lazy; it’s a virus.

  7. I have low blood pressure, people. And low blood sugar (especially if I sit in front of the computer the whole day and forget to eat ).

    Note that those excuses are not short and self-limiting, like the flu. They can be relied on continuously.

    Also, I would have cleaned the kids’ sink, but since it’s blocked up and the water won’t go down, there’s no point, is there? Someone will have to fix it first.

  8. ABS, I like that! Now think of one for me, please!

    Yes, blaming laziness on a bug is a good idea.

    3rdCulture… what’s a husband for, anyway?

  9. Hey, I have that virus, too!

  10. I blame it on the “I just don’t want to do its”!

Leave a Reply

