A Short Post on Really Cold Weather

I’m sitting in my office trying to warm up sufficiently to work on the computer. Yes, it’s Sunday, but I have a lot of projects going on, and this is the only day I have to do my pet project, which is working on year books.

It’s a whole 9 degrees outside. It’s not much warmer inside. Mr. Demonic is, hmm… let’s call him “thrifty”, so we are encouraged to turn the heat off when we leave the building. The building is made of cement block. It takes about an hour to remove the chill sufficiently enough to feel a small level of comfort. In addition, I have a small space heater under my desk. This is because my feet are usually cold. The space heater is cranking, but my feet are still cold.

I’ve been sitting here attempting to type on a keyboard with ice cold letters. My mouse is like a frozen block of ice. A short visit to the restroom reveals that the toilet seat is uncomfortably cold. My theory is plain. Nine whole degrees is extremely difficult to chase off, even with the furnace blasting.

The only TV I watch is a short visit to the Weather Channel to find out the current temperature. Once informed, I donned flannel lined khakis, wool socks, and sweatshirt over regular shirt. Then I went outside and fired up my small car, which would take about thirty minutes of  highway driving to warm up. My office is five minutes away, so it definitely didn’t warm up.

I used to live in a contiguous United state where it’s so cold, it usually leads the nation for coldest temperature. The people there are entirely crazy. My friends and relatives there relished cold weather. They would pop out of their frozen houses and beat their chests with both fists. “Ha, ha! I laugh at cold weather! Let’s go ice fishing! Let’s go snowmobiling! Let’s go up north!” “Up north” meaning the place two hundred miles towards Canada where it is really really cold.

I was enticed to move where I live now because during the time I was dating Mr. Demonic, this state had a rash of warm winters, where all it did was rain. After we tied the knot, we’ve had a rash of winters where all it does is mimic the state from which I escaped.

It took me about forty years, but I finally decided that I am not comfortable with cold or snow. Yes, I’m not too bright. Now I live in exile, hoping for a day when I can go to my true home, the one where a beach that isn’t encased in ice is included.

My fingers are frostbitten now, so I must end this post. Perhaps tomorrow will be a warmer day.

11 Responses

  1. It seems these days every word out of my mouth is “why do I live here?” I have always known I was supposed to live in the south-and spending 2 weeks in Florida in December confirmed what I already knew. It is currently 7 degrees with a -1 windchill here…I hate winter!

  2. We have eight years to go, then it’s South in October and North in March – the last of March. I hated snow and cold even as a kid, when you are supposed to like it. The winters we spent in places like Savannah, Georgia and El Paso, Texas just reinforced winter hatred in me. I have to really fight to keep from getting depressed in winter. I keep thinking ahead to those winters in southern Arizona.

  3. One time I went into work on a Monday morning. I had to do some work in a trailer. I had complained to my boss that the trailer sucked. My boss gave me no sympathies. On the morning in question,, the trailer was quite cold. My employer turned off the heat entirely over the weekend. I wrote something on a whiteboard and hoped to erase it. I couldn’t erase it. The ink had frozen to the whiteboard.

    Sometimes I hear people say they are worried about global warming. Hah! Bring it on! Please.

  4. No kidding, ABS.

    It is now 12:30 and I’ve been here 3 hours. I’ve finally defrosted enough to work! YAY!

  5. You’re making me grateful for my 35 degrees and raining.

  6. Wooie! It’s above 0 F here now. The sun is out. Maybe it is time for some naked rolling in the snow.

    Oh yeah. I’m not 19 any more. I think I’ll have a warm shower, put on my down filled slippers and read under a blanket.

  7. You rolled nakedly in the snow!? Even I won’t do that. I can think of better things to do…

  8. It’s in the low 40’s here. Out one window in my room I see blue skies, a very deep blue in fact; then out the other side of the same window, I see gray clouds. The tree outside my window is really being blown about and the windchimes are making a lot of noise right now. It’s supposed to rain for the next week. Yup. Weather.com says rain starting today and through next Friday, at least. Our temperature is supposed to drop to the upper 20’s, too.

    Yeah, I guess it’s winter. I guess I’m glad I’m here and not There.

  9. It got up to 9 here today. I spent the day in an under heated train. I’m still trying to warm up.

    Yes, I’m going to write about that.

  10. One thing nice about this area, is that there are very few days below freezing, each winter. I hate the heat though.

  11. Heat! Love heat! Bring on global warming.

Leave a Reply

