Trouble in Paradise

After returning to the pandemonic homesite today, after my extended weekend on the Left Coast, I learned that there is a bit of drama going on.

Mini-Ms-Demonic is having boyfriend troubles.

She refuses to talk to anyone about it.

The Boyfriend just left here, after some loud shedding of tears. I wasn’t spying, I could hear it from downstairs.

She’s young, but one of these days she will figure out that there always has to be some trouble in paradise. Life isn’t fair; it never has been. Missteps are the only way of learning anything. Besides, we humans need this angst in order to create. Without trouble, there’d be no poetry, no sonnets, no love songs, no artistic endeavors, no tall skyscrapers, no novels, nothing.

If she wants to talk, I will be here. I can tell that right now she is wallowing in pity and pain.

10 Responses

  1. Uh oh. I guess it’s just a rite of passage. That doesn’t make it any easier though.

  2. Ooo…not good when that happens. They tend to make the entire family pay the price…but, this too shall pass.

  3. It sucks when all we can do for them is be there. Let her wallow for a while; she’ll talk when she’s ready.

  4. Thats a shame, and I can relate, my 15 y-o daughter has already felt the sting of ill-fated romance.

    psst- you want I should “talk” to tha bum what done her wrong?

  5. No. JoJo. I happen to like the bum, he works for us too, and has been nothing but a gentleman. I take it this is a mutual meeting of the minds. He knows she’s going to CA for college and he’s staying here because his mother won’t let him go out of state. Knowing this doesn’t make it any easier for both of them, though.

  6. Oh, that’s too bad. If the reason for the breakup is geographic unworkableness, though, that’s not so bad. Just wait until some jerk strings her along and then dumps her for another girl. Then she’ll really make you miserable.

  7. I remember how painful those high school break ups are. A couple of times I thought I would die I was so miserable. Everything is felt so strongly at that age. It’s also not fun to watch when it’s your kid’s turn.

  8. Ah, to be a teenager again.

    Not.

    Does being an adolescent magnify all of life’s problems by 200%.

  9. As it turned out, I sure am glad that first girl ditched me, ’cause I never would have met my wife. When you are 16 though, it is impossible to have that perspective.

    Dr. B

  10. So true, Dr. B. When you’re that age, you think living to be 21 is a pipe dream and to 30 a physical impossibility.

Leave a Reply

