More California Dreamin’… and Other Stuff

Last night, we went to the symphony, which means dinner was at the concert hall. There’s a little place there called the Paradise Cafe. It refers to a previous incarnation of our local concert hall – another story, too long to go into here. The restaurant doesn’t have a kitchen. Food is trucked in from somewhere else (catered by a big-wig catering group in the city) and warmed for diners. This might sound awkward and awful, but really it’s not bad. They bring in a prime rib which is usually delicious, green beans, potatoes, salmon and chicken, and pasta. It’s a regular smorgasbord of delights. It’s also a lot of heavy food I don’t normally eat.

Last night, I had weird dreams. I have to relate that to my meal which was only a few hours before falling asleep.

I dreamed I was in southern California, driving my daughter around.

In two weeks, we will be in southern California, and I’ll be driving my daughter around to the various colleges she’s interested in. Outside of the metropolitan San Diego area, I’ve never been to most parts of southern California, and certainly not to the places we will be visiting, which include LA, Malibu and Santa Barbara.

This is not the first dream I’ve had where I’ve dreamt of where I’m going. I once dreamed of the inside of a friend’s house, and when I finally went inside, it was exactly as I had envisioned in my dream. I’ve seen the rolling hills of Kentucky before I actually rolled through. I’ve been on certain sandy beaches before arriving there.

My point is this: I think sometimes dreams are the movies of your subconscious, but I also think our minds and souls can go to places when our bodies are asleep. (Ooo-iee… Yes, I believe in astral projection.) This can also happen when under anesthesia. I saw myself lying in the recovery room after having a C-section for my son. As crazy as it sounds, I was on the ceiling looking down, and snapped back into my body when my back hit the wall. I vividly remember the conversation the nurses were having before I woke up.

My dream last night was very calming. It was a warm, sunny day, and we had just left a school that wasn’t far from the beach. The roads were twisting around the hills. My daughter wanted to go to the beach, so I parked the rental car. It was a non-descript foreign model that was gray. When coming back from the beach, I couldn’t locate the car. Everyone was driving a small foreign car, and there’s not much difference between a KIA and a Hyundai if you’re used to a Toyota. So we walked up a hill, where the area was getting more residential. I said, “We’ve gone too far.” So we walked back down, and eventually found the car, located near a coffee shop. I should have made that mental reference before I exited the car. All was well, so I woke up.

Hmm… I wonder what this means?

7 Responses

  1. I’d agree that dreams are your unconscious playing out your hopes, or fears, of what you think you will be doing.
    The problem comes when you get there and find you dreamt of something you couldn’t have known about 🙂

  2. We use the word foreign for cars made in Japan too. Do you call cars made in America “domestic” or “American”?

    We call movies made anywhere but the US foreign. I think it’s especially strange to go into a video store and pick out a Canadian movie that’s in the foreign section.

    I think I want more coffee.

  3. California Dreaming. I remember when the Mamas and the Papas came out. I thought that was the best harmony I’d ever heard.

    Dr. B

  4. Ah! I will guess that you were visiting Pepperdine when you were in the Malibu area. It’s gorgeous there. I think you’ll do fine. Maybe when you go the rental car counter you should specify you don’t want white or gray or black car!

    And…A HUGE THANK YOU. YOU ARE THE BEST. YOU KNOW WHY.

  5. Hi,
    Isn’t it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do practice??

  6. ABS, I think ALL cars are foreign. It’s a global economy. A Big-3 mini-van is made in Canada which is a foreign country, but we look at it like a US car. Crazy.

    Dr. B, yes, I am moved to tears by any song containing the word “California.”

    You’re welcome, Corina! 🙂

    Threadjacked by the last comment.

  7. Oh! Lucky you. You got spam.

    I’m liking that. use of the word foreign. I’m going to start using it that way and domestic too.

Leave a Reply

