Some More Things People Should Invent – Part II

I was thinking about this post today. The reason is because I’m bored and thought I would go through all my old posts. When I happened upon this one, I started to think about more things that someone should invent.

1. Self-dentistry. I am really queasy about going to the dentist. I haven’t been to one in a couple of years, mainly because the last time I went, the bill came to $3,000 and my husband was wondering if my teeth were worth it. The other reason is because I just plain don’t like it. If there was anyway to get around a yearly check up, I’d be all for it. What is needed is a self-cleaning kit complete with fluoride treatment.

2. Self-preventative medical. Apologies to fellow blogger, Dr. Bibey,  but I wish there were a way to give myself a PAP smear and a cholesterol check once a year. I like my general practitioner, but health care is really expensive, and I really don’t have the time for the appointment.  While we’re at it, I wish that antibiotics were available over the counter.

3. A Robot Who Would Do My Hair. As much as I detest going to the doctor and dentist, I also despise going to get my hair done. Reason: I’m cheap. I haven’t had it done professionally in ages, too. I usually color my own, and will trim it. I wish there could be some sort of apparatus that I could sit under while I was working out, and 30 minutes later, voila! perfect head, I’d be all for it.

4. Time Machine.  I thought at first that I would just like to go back to certain times and places in my lifetime, like Monterrey in 1958 when I was two, but now I’m thinking that going forward might be fun. Going way, way back would really be fun. You’d think the brain trust in Washington would get on that one immediately.

5.  Cars That Fold Up as Small as a Laptop. This would be a great invention. One that would put all of the insurance companies, rental car places and car washes out of business. Plus, you wouldn’t need a garage! Imagine this: you pull up to your house. Press a button. Your car folds up into a nice little square. You carry it inside the house, thus eliminating the need to lock it. It will stay clean too, and you can bring it with you on long trips.

Thinking of this makes me think about an episode of That 70s Show where Kelso is thinking of an invention. It’s a chair with wheels, so you don’t have to get up. (A wheelchair.) Then a bicycle with a motor, so you don’t have to peddle. (A motorcycle.)

Heh, heh…

9 Responses

  1. I’d go for the first two in a heartbeat!

  2. I’d be happy with the time machine so I could go back and take care of my dental needs and my medical needs so I wouldn’t need number 2 and 3.

  3. Yes, I believe the time machine wins hands down. That would eliminate many problems, including wars and global warming.

  4. I practice #2. Antibiotics are available here OTC. I know which ones for which ailment. I recently finished a course of Cipro, which cost about $1 US.

    While a time machine would be useful, I would like a machine that stops time.Think of it: Press a button and time stops dead. You could blog to your heart’s content, leave thousands of comments, and then start time again, having lost none. That would be sweet.

  5. Numbers 1 – 4 are possible with little more than a mirror, a cordless drill and a big bottle of booze. I’ll check into #5 but I think I’ll need a saw.

    My friend Eugene thought he had discovered time travel and it took a lot of effort to convince him that drinking tequila on Sunday, passing out and not waking up until three days later was not the same.

  6. Stopping time would definitely be uber cool. Just think of the mischief you could get into… Oh, my head is spinning with the possibilities.

    I don’t know about a cordless drill on my hair, Quill Gordon. I don’t have that much hair anymore. (Female pattern baldness. It’s a curse.) I’ll take that bottle of booze though.

  7. I read #5 as a cat that folds up as small as a laptop, and I was like, dude, what the hell kind of cat does she have now?

    As for the rest, I vote for the dentistry thing. I hate having other people’s hands in my mouth.

  8. David is funny. 🙂

    I like the dental hygienist. Maybe that’s ’cause she’s cute and I have dental insurance so I don’t have to pay.

    I think I’d like to pretend to be a robot and do your hair. Oooh! I just had a thought.

    I think I want to read more Eugene things. It’s been a while since I’ve read those.

  9. Eugene is totally funny. Maybe I should read them again.

Leave a Reply

