I’m In Love With An Old Man

I didn’t think it would ever happen to me, but it has. If you would have said this to me thirty years ago, I would have totally said “No way!” There’s no way I’d be in love with an old man. And no, it’s not Richard Gere… (Sheesh! I just mention he’s hotter now than before and I get pelted with “oh, she loves Richard!” na nee na nee naaaa neeee…)

My “old man” is my husband. And I’m still in love with him.

I wasn’t aware of how old he’d gotten until I looked at him sleeping on Saturday night. I couldn’t sleep, and he was out like the proverbial light, snoring up a storm.

I couldn’t roll him over, because he’s too big. It’s not polite to poke, so I just looked at him in the light of the TV screen. My husband is about nine months younger than me, but his hair is now almost completely gray. While I sometimes color mine, I sometimes go months without, so I know I have a few gray strands, but nothing more. Gray hair must be the result of the high-stress worry of owning your own business. (I don’t know why mine is still brown.) His hairline is receding a bit now, too. This is scary to me, because his father was bald by the time he was 60. Don’t say this in front of him, but my husband and his father look very much the same. If the loss of hair is any indication, my husband will be bald soon enough. I am not too sure about being in love with a bald man, but I guess I should never say “never.”

I also noticed he’s got a lot of wrinkling going around his eyes. I hadn’t noticed it much before. He golfs a lot, so it’s probably from sun damage. He doesn’t smoke, except for the occasional cigar on the golf course, so it’s not tobacco that is contributing to his wrinkles. I don’t think they are happy wrinkles either, not like the ones Santa Claus has. These are stress-related wrinkles.

My husband also has the little paunchy stomach thing going on. This, even though he exercises an hour and a half every day. Of course, I have a paunchy stomach too, but I’m blaming mine on food. Also, drinking wine with dinner doesn’t help if you want to maintain a slim physique.

I remember growing up back in the late 60s and early 70s. People would call their significant others “old men” or “old ladies.” That’s probably because a lot of young people weren’t married but just shacking up (a colloquialism for cohabitation). “Hey, man, I gotta check with my old lady, man.” My dad called my mother that, not when she was in earshot, of course. Sometimes people would call their parents “old man” and “old lady.” It was a term of endearment, a nicer way of saying you were shackled to the old ball and chain.

Now my darling handsome husband no longer has a thick brown mane of hair and is slightly wrinkled and paunchy. However, he’s still really good looking. Unlike Richard Gere, I don’t know that his looks actually improved with age. When he was younger, he had a way about his walk (probably because he is tall and thin) and a nice small rear end. He  had a friendly smile and could look at me like he could see clear through  my soul to the other side of the room.

My husband is still very good looking, but in a different way. He looks more mature and wise, instead of young and wise-cracking.

It’s something you could only notice in the middle of the night.

7 Responses

  1. as my better half’s old man…thanks for a unique view into recognizing love.

  2. This is sweet. I hope you let him read it.

  3. I think I’d rather have mature and wise. 🙂

  4. Yup, me too!

  5. This is very sweet.

  6. It’s very sweet indeed. No wonder you guys used to have sex at the office all the time.

  7. My Grandmother (who was married 52 years) used to say that sometimes she got a shock first thing in the morning, she’d wake up and think “Oh my goodness, who’s that old man in my bed?”

    Then she’s see herself in the mirror and wonder who the “old dear” was!

Leave a Reply

