Trading Shades of Gray

I’ve long complained about snow and winter. Let’s face it, I’m not a winter-person. Winter makes me sleepy, cranky and mean. I don’t need a sunshine brilliant enough to tan, but I do need some sunshine, which we don’t get enough of where I am situated. I’m also positively influenced by lots of green vegetation and plenty of flowers.

Last week, the area has been treated to warmer weather. Things aren’t quite perfect yet, though. There was about a foot of snow that had to be melted, and while the temperatures were warmer, they weren’t anywhere near summertime highs. At 40 degrees, it has taken a week to melt what was left.

Today it’s raining, steadily.

I’m liking it better than snow. Had it been snowing, we’d probably have another foot of it piled up.

I think we’ve traded shades of gray.

4 Responses

  1. It rained so much here today, I started looking up the instructions for the ark. 🙂

  2. I guess that’s progress!

    We had kind of cool weather today. It is supposed to rain Wednesday. We’ll see how it goes.

  3. Yes.

    It isn’t the snow that bothers me. It isn’t even the cold. Fresh snow on a sunny day can be lovely. The world can look like a magical fairyland and the sun on clean snow almost doubles the light. Gray bothers me. Rain gray and snow gray are both gray. The good thing about rain gray is that afterwards when the sun does come out, things look vibrantly alive. I think people call that colour green.

  4. Oh, the color green… I’ve long missed it. I’m not sure what it looks like anymore. Maybe I can find some video of green to refresh my memory.

Leave a Reply

