All of My People Have Died, or I’ve Become Grossly Uninteresting

True, this week I’ve been beset with a terrible cold. I’ve also been busy with life and have not been able to post as much or as thoughtfully as I have in the past. However, I’ve just checked my WordPress stats (now that I have found them in what is now the “brand new” WordPress) and found that my readership has dropped down to ZERO as of today.

Zero?

Not even a visit from MIB? (Okay, I know where he is. Busy with his own life too. At least he had the decency to email me.)

I also see from the stats that my two biggest article draws ever were on posts about having sex in the office. (Just as an aside, since I’ve been sick, I haven’t felt amorous enough to make whoopee anywhere, much less at the office. Now that my health is taking a turn for the better, I should investigate this and report on it soon. Perhaps I can move from the conference room to another location.)

Our other venture online seems to be suffering as well. I don’t know if it is because everyone has spring fever or if some of my peeps have been kidnapped by aliens. I’ve noticed that the number of other writers’ posts has diminished, too. Perhaps the government should conduct a study. There are studies on other things a whole lot less important.

I think I’ll take advantage of this lull in the action. However, it is raining and will be raining (they say) until Tuesday, so that precludes digging up dirt in the yard or a round of golf. This means I am trapped indoors, where I may have to *gasp* clean the basement, work on my book or my violin playing. (I’m so bad. With all three of those things.)

Anyway, this is a shout out to those who will listen, or those still with a heartbeat.

“Hello?”

Hope you all have a great weekend.

16 Responses

  1. Hello!

    I wrote a post at my blog a couple of days ago titled “International Leave A comment Week”, and I’ve found if you take a few minutes to scatter comments around at different blogs, you will not only make their day, you’ll generate more traffic to your own site as they come to see who you are.

    Try it and see what happens!

  2. There are ebbs and flows. Just keep posting and folks will find you. Especially with themes like “sex at the office” etc. The main thing, as you know, is to be entertaining, provocative and, above all else, INTERESTING.

    Your readers will be back, never fear…

  3. I know. They probably went out for pizza.

    🙂

  4. Pizza? I’ve been under the bed writing. There’s been noooooo pizza. I would like pizza. I would like some of mdc’s shrimp pizza. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWNOWWWWWWWNOWWWWWWWWWWWWW…….

    *falls asleep*

  5. *hopefully* pizza?

  6. Nothin’ personal. I’m just a selfish bastard who doesn’t get around as much as he should. Actually, I’m very busy getting ready for opening day, fighting beavers and pumping water from the cellar.

    I still love you.

  7. Yours is one of about five blogs that I have read every single day. So you should have at least me as reader. I think the wordpress stats may be off. I haven’t checked mine. I didn’t post anything for a week so I didn’t expect readers. I’ve been either sick, traveling, trying to figure out the new laptop, or all of the above. I still cannot get used to the laptop. It is seriously hampering my blogging and everything else I do online. But I’m here. I read. Or at least I check to see if you have written anything new. I don’t load the page if you haven’t. I just check the rss feed bookmark.

  8. Pande,

    As you re-populate your census, know that ole Dr. B is still around, and you are on my blog roll.

    I had a tough week, ’cause my computer was down, but I got it back today.

    Also, my negotiations to free Mr. Green Jeans are mired down in a political quagmire down here at the Federal Pen. Free MGJ!

    Dr. B

  9. I’m here! I was just noticing that my reader has been neglected. My stats are also down, so I don’t think it’s WordPress. I guess it’s just one of those slow times on the internets. It was really warm here yesterday, maybe everyone went outside to play?

    Maybe someone should do something wild and crazy to stir things up.

  10. Thanks, peeps. I wasn’t just boohooing to hear myself cry. It’s raining here, with tornado warnings until 9, so I doubt that my nearby people are outside. If it were nicer out, I’d definitely be among the flowers and trees.

  11. We just stayed away to see whether you’d miss us. Now that we know you’re properly appreciative, see how we’re back in droves?

  12. The worst thing about the new and improved WordPress is that I now can’t find any of the people who had private blogs. Or the people I subscribe to.

    The internet is way too big.

  13. Hi Pan!

    My readership is way down too, but I think it’s because I’ve been boring them. 😦

  14. helllllooooooooo! *shouting loudly with cupped hands to be heard from Australia*

    I’m here and still reading. In fact, I found your last post (about the death of your sister-in-law) so touching that I have been considering what to post in response… I’m still not sure what to say, except, rather selfishly, “God I hope I never have to drive for hours to the deathbed of my sister-in-law”. Which is neither helpful nor insightful. Sorry.

    But I’m still here.

  15. Truce, dear, thanks for the shout. Even long drives to death beds are fodder for a good story.

  16. I’m reading! I know how you feel…I’ve been sick the last 2 weeks and my fairly new blog has hit a definite lull. I am to blame, but it’s a bit disheartening.

Leave a Reply

