Living in a Glass House

I’m usually pretty open about myself. On other online forums, I use my own real name. Now my thought is that eventually I’d like to be considered seriously for my writing, thus the use of my real name. Some people might think that is a pretty foolhardy move. There are some online who are a little off kilter, just plain weird or downright dangerous.

I started using my own real name for a couple of reasons. One, I was naive. I thought everyone did it. Two, I am very bland. You could say really boring and saccharine to the Nth degree. I can’t really think of a cutesy moniker. I even have the same email address for many different service providers, you know, *.msn, *.aol, *.yahoo, *.gmail, *.hotmail, etc. I have certain things go to certain email; for example, I use the MSN address when I buy things online. I shouldn’t say this, but I use the same two or three passwords for all the email. This is because I can’t remember diddley in my old age.

I know of people who don’t do that, for whatever reasons. Mostly, they don’t want to be bothered, and I can appreciate that. Also, if an online persona has young children, I believe that one should be careful about posting their names, ages and photographs. I understand completely that there plenty of whackjobs out there.

On the other hand, I am “out there” as myself. My children are adults (well, one is, and one is almost an adult, in two months and seven days, as she keeps telling me ad nauseaum) and I’m an adult. Last I looked, my husband is an adult. My real name is rather unique. In fact, every person on the planet with my surname has an ancestor that came from the same small village in eastern Europe, so we’re all related by blood or marriage. I figure, might as well be out there and keep my “enemies” where I can see them.

Do I have enemies? Well, I’m not sure, but I’m not naive enough to think that the Internet is one happy bubble of pleasantness and joy. I’m sure there are some who have Googled my name and found a treasure trove of information which could be used to smite me. It happened to my husband. On the other hand, I have had long-lost friends find me online, and that alone has been satisfying to have my information in a public forum where they could contact me.

I’ve been extremely lucky and greatly blessed by the people I’ve met as a result of my online world. I love all of them. As I have told MIB, the Internet is the new neighborhood. This is how we meet people with similar interests and passions. This doesn’t mean that we’re here to hook up or do something weird. This is the Brave New World.

I was just thinking about this because I called an online friend today who is not feeling very well. In our conversation, I asked him if he would be interested in meeting me or the rest of the motley crew that we’ve known in the last year. He said no. I can understand the hesitation.

The other reason I thought of this today is because of my house. My husband, who was feeling a bit randy today, gave me a grope in the kitchen and asked “quickie?” but then remembered he had a guy coming over at 7:30 to give us an estimate on repairing the old rotting wood in our sun room. We don’t have sex in the lower level of our house, because it’s all windows and no window coverings. Talk about a glass house.

That’s why God made offices and office sex.

But I digress… my point is, I’d rather have it all shook out in public online than a quickie in our “glass” house.

10 Responses

  1. Yup! I could see why that would not be a good idea (well, I can’t really SEE it but I get it).

    Passwords aggravate me. I especially hate the sites that dictate that you MUST have a number in your password. It’s all I can do to remember a password with letters. I’ve never gotten along with numbers.

  2. I use my real name, too. I figured, if someone really wanted to track me down they could, real name or no.

    Not sure about the “quickie” in a glass house – I guess I’d have to be there to know how I’d respond to such an offer 🙂

  3. Well, it’s interesting if you hide behind the couch, but I’ve never been an exhibitionist. Really.

  4. I wanna meet you Pan!

  5. Well, you know what they say: People who live in glass houses shouldn’t …. um. Never mind.

  6. *bumps Pan’s ankles affectionately*

  7. HUH? 😛

  8. This is a really interesting post.
    Technology has changed the way we interact with each other and the world so quickly and in ways we may not begin to understand in our lifetimes. Issues around privacy and authenticity are sometimes difficult to sort out.

    We are developing a kind of cyberliteracy and the transactions that take place here are so dynamic and in such a state of continuous flux. It is hard to imagine how growing up with this kind of technology will impact us. The kind of interaction with the world that is commonplace to children today is so vastly different than what I grew up with – what would seem like a cloistered lifestyle these days – no Internet, land lines, card catalogues.

  9. Ha, Ivy… those were the days, weren’t they? Things are instantaneous now, and if they aren’t fast enough, the kids get bored. I shudder to think about the grandkids…

  10. It’s just easier to be real, and I’m not good at being anyone but me. 😉

Leave a Reply

