On a Roll: An Update of Sorts

I haven’t been posting here as much as I used to. There’s a good reason.

I just steamered past the 100th page of my novel.

Well, OK, I do have a confession to make. It wasn’t really “steamering,” as much as fitting together enough time to get the jigsaw puzzle of my words to fit in a somewhat coherent manner. I know I’m far from being finished, and I’m pretty sure a good editor will cut and trim a lot of it before it’s a done deal. It helped enormously to have Mr. Demonic out of the house for the last three days. He was traveling the state delivering new curriculum and playing a few rounds of golf in the cold. That’s cool. It’s what he likes to do.

This left me with some time at night to work, and for the most part, I did. Now that I’ve reached this milestone, I feel a sense of urgency to getting the next part of the story told. I really want to write! My characters now have, well, more character. They’re not perfect, in fact, they are far from it. The story line is making sense. Things are starting to get juicy. The plot thickens…

I want to be finished by December 31, and I have a long way to go.

So, if I am absent, that’s where I’ll be.

9 Responses

  1. Celebrate this landmark (100 pages) and then quickly get on to page 101….102…keep up the momentum. It’s so easy to lose steam on larger projects and one must keep up a ferocious pace in order to push through to the end. Words on paper, words on paper, every day at least until you’ve got a draft you can work with…

  2. Thanks for being a cheerleader, Cliff! To tell you the truth, I couldn’t have gotten this far without the help of my Internet buddies. 🙂

  3. Good for you! Keep going. Let your characters be themselves. I think that’s the best way to do it. We give them life and they take it and run. Don’t try to make them do what you want them to do. Let them have their way!

  4. You go girl. Dec 31- we are on the same schedule.

    Dr. B

  5. You go like a demon!

  6. Congrats on your progress, pilgrim.

  7. 🙂 Thanks, everyone. Now I’d better get back to work!

  8. “The plot thickens”

    Is there a more delicious phrase in the English language? I don’t think so.

    Very happy to hear the novel is coming along so well.

Leave a Reply

