100 Words: Pearl

Romance begins with the annoyance of a sand granule or sea refuse. Liquor surges forward to soften the itch, and the jewel is caressed by protective folds. Here it will slumber for a time, surrounded in a numbingly cold gray blanket, caressed by the steady pounding of surf. It grows bigger and more magnificent with each shifting tide. Would it be heaven that no one releases the gem, but it is not to be. Hunters will seek the rugged capsule and plunge the murder knife deep into its being, divorcing one side from another, just to extricate the precious cargo.

7 Responses

  1. Romance is the silver lining in life’s dark cloud.

    It is the morning and the evening star.

  2. Wow! Just wow!

  3. Thanks, Shawn. I try… 🙂

  4. I’ve read this a gazillion times. I’m not sure about it. It bothers me. Was it supposed to? It’s difficult to tell with the word count limit. It bothers me that romance is compared in the brutal terms. But then again, it most often is. I like that “the jewel is caressed by protective folds” but that’s about the only gentle comparison.

    I think these words make a strong impact. It would be a very useful piece of prose to put maybe at the beginning of a chapter of a book or even at the beginning of a book, like a preface of sorts.

    Tough writing so economically, isn’t it?!

  5. It sure is, Corina. I tried making it a 50 worder, but that was too hard.

    I wrote this once I found out my daughter absconded with my pearl earrings. I thought that she took them so casually and didn’t even realize the journey of a pearl.

    I might use this elsewhere for a larger story.

  6. This pretty much sums up how I feel about romance. 🙂

  7. Fascinating processes, both.

Leave a Reply

