News Flash: It’s Way Cooler Under the Tomatoes

Yesterday was Sunday, so in the early morning, I went out to weed the garden.

As I related in a previous post, Mr. D loves to water. Not just the fruits and vegetables, he waters everything. Grass, weeds. I don’t think he knows the difference. He just likes to sprinkle everything, including the muddy, barren area that has recently been dug up. After it turns from mud back to dirt, the sparrows come by and take a birdy dirt bath. By the dozens.

Mr. D waters by hand too: I think he likes to gaze upon the foliage.  So, combine a huge water bill with temperatures in the 90s, and what do you get? Answer: a boatload of cucumbers (I was going to say “butt-load” but that image was rather distasteful) and lots of weeds.

Thankfully, part of my vegetable bed is right below an ancient oak tree, so it gets shade in the early morning, before the sun heats everything up.

I hadn’t even looked at my tomatoes, since I’ve been up to my armpits in grapevines and cucumbers. (Another weird mental image.) We have a tangly vine thing called a creeping Charley. It makes me want to hate all Charleys, but I know that’s a gross exaggeration. I found that my tomato plants have become trellises for the creeping weed, which is a rather annoying green thing. I usually like green things, but not this one. It would take over my yard and then my house if I let it.

My tomato plants tower over me now. I’ve found out from working under them that it’s a good ten degrees cooler under there. They make a rather interesting leafy bower.

I would have stayed longer, but I’m allergic to tomato plants. Not the fruit, just the leaves. Besides, it only took an hour or so, and I was all Charley’d out.

11 Responses

  1. Mmmm, fresh tomato! I haven’t had a homegrown tomato in forever!

  2. Creeping Charley in your garden is a pretty good image, too. 🙂

  3. You could probably earn some pocket change selling them — I understand the salmonella-related tomato scare is still somewhat in effect.

    You make gardening sound like fun, too.

  4. I wish I had the patience to garden. I want corn in my yard. And tomatoes. But I’m too impatient.

  5. It’s rather zen in the garden, which is the reason why I do it.

  6. I like tomatoes. I like bruchetta. That is all.

  7. I’m trying to imagine a tomato arbor. That must be amazing!

  8. My crazy neighbor lady has tomatoes and cukes everywhere, that and squash. She has been pawning them off on everyone for weeks now.

  9. I can can the tomatoes. You have to eat a cucumber fresh, though, and I’m all cuked out.

  10. You can pickle them.

  11. Our cukes have just started. They’re white. I’ve never heard of such a thing, but they are absolutely YUMBO.

Leave a Reply

