Why Didn’t They Steal The Cucumbers!?

My last post dealt with a conspicuous absence of pears.

Today’s will touch on the cucumber plants that took over the world.

I have three: two regular, and one fancy-schmancy Japanese burpless. (There are pickling cukes in the color bowls on my deck, but I’m not counting them. I made dill pickles last night with those.) These three plants have managed to inundate this family and everyone we know with cucumbers.

Here are just a few of them, if you don’t believe me:

I can’t pick them fast enough.

When I pick a half dozen in the morning, I leave with the mistaken impression that I will not have to pick again for a couple of days.

WRONG!

I could easily pick a half dozen in the evening too.

I don’t know what Mr. Demonic is going to do while I’m gone for a week. I have visions of returning home to cucumbers the size of small watermelons. (Speaking of watermelons, I have a couple of those too.)

All I want to know is, why didn’t they steal the cucumbers!?

12 Responses

  1. Probably because they don’t fly as well as the rounder pears. Besides, from the picture, some of them are shaped like a boomerang. They were probably afraid if they threw them and they flew, it would come right back at them!

  2. Yeah, those are the burpless cukes. They are huge! They grew in a circle because the vines are a tangled mess. I’ve straightened out most of that now.

  3. I wish our cucumbers grew as well as our zucchini. We grow lemon cucumbers which grow round and yellow. They are delicious, but not fecund.

  4. I saw Woodchuck Pear Cider in the grocery store today and thought of you. I must confess, I giggled. I’m sorry.

  5. They are obviously discriminating thieves. The pear is a much higher class fruit than the lowly cuke. Which is, incidentally, a fruit rather than a vegetable.

    Ha, ya’ll didn’t think I knew that, didja?

  6. Anything on a vine is a fruit, JoJo… I learned that long ago. So even tomatoes are fruit.

    Pear Cider? I’m green with envy.

  7. Woodchuck pear cider is the shizz.

    I think if you don’t pick them that often they’ll stop growing so fast.

  8. Too bad we don’t live closer. Hubby loves those things.

  9. We have a local orchard that makes it’s own apple cider with fresh Va mountain apples. It’s little place off of rt 8, called Dicken’s orchard.
    Nothing like some fresh Dickens cider. But in the winter, there’s nothing better than a hot Dickens cider. Warms you right to the bone.
    Sometimes they even age it for a while before they sell it. I’ve never had it, but my wife loves the hard Dickens cider.

  10. Woodchuck also makes apple and… and… uh… some other flavor I’ve enjoyed. It’s only 4% alcohol, which means I can actually drink two of them and still walk a straight line. Good stuff!

    I confess I couldn’t bring myself to try cucumber cider, though…

  11. Cucumber cider. Yuck.

  12. probably didn’t steal ’em purely because they didn’t see ’em – I’m guessing the pears were more on view if the tree is near where you park your car??

Leave a Reply

