An Entirely Strange Dream

Last night was the first time in seventy-two hours that I finally got a decent night’s sleep. I’ve had other things on my mind, including payroll, cabling my house and getting the phone back (a long sad story that ends with the sentence “And that’s why I HATE AT&T!), a power outage at work resulting in loss of a server (it’s still down), my kids in California calling me for this item or that, and other deadlines too numerous to outline here. After all of that, I was spent and really wanted to sleep. So, I drank a half bottle of wine last night, something I don’t usually do, and downed a Tylenol PM.

I can report that I slept well.

However, I did have one entirely strange dream, which I’m going to write down here before I forget:

The set up: As some of you know, I had an “Internet Boyfriend.” I say “had” because even though we are still friendly, he’s no longer MIB. He had a summer filled with a lot of activity and took a short break from here, which was fine by me. Our interactions have been very sparse, considering that we used to chat almost every day.

The dream: I dreamt that MIB was in bed with me last night. The weird thing was that my husband was also in bed. I was sandwiched right in the middle of the two. In my dream, I was dead tired (much like I was really) and really wanted to go to sleep. MIB was to my left, dressed from head to toe in a long nightgown. It wasn’t a girly nightgown, but a plain white one. My husband, on the other side of me, was dressed in what he normally goes to bed in – a tee-shirt and his underwear. That’s what I was wearing too.

MIB was turned toward me, and talking the entire night. It was quite annoying, so I turned away from him and toward my husband and started drifting off. My husband was perturbed at the internet boyfriend in the bed, so he turned away and started twitching, pounding his pillow, and generally making a huge commotion. I couldn’t fall asleep because of it.

I tried to sleep on my back, but I’m not much of a back sleeper. Besides, I had MIB on one side of me talking about this and that, and my husband on the other side rolling around in bed like a mini-earthquake.

And so I drifted off to sleep, but it was a dissatisfying type of sleep. It was like sleeping on a train or airplane or in the hospital. You think and hope and pray you will get some rest, but because other things are going on around you, part of your brain is somewhat alert just in case it has to wake the rest of you in the event of a crash, turbulence or a nurse coming to poke you in the ass with a needle.

Unbelievably, my real sleep went fairly well. When my alarm went off at 6 a.m., I got up, turned it off and went back to sleep so quickly, I didn’t even realize I had done it.

I hope I dream something more soothing tonight.

9 Responses

  1. Very interesting dream. Of course, I would say that it had something to say to you but sometimes I read too much into things.

    I hope you continue to have deep, restful sleep! It makes all the difference in the world.

  2. Sounds like a horrible way to spend a night! At least you did get rested.

  3. Are you finding the men in your life annoying? 😉

    Hope it goes better for you tonight.

  4. I can totally picture Charley getting into bed with just about anyone and chattering on all night long, oblivious. 🙂

  5. Sometimes it is difficult to believe what we see in our dreams. I too had a very strange dream recently which I have described in my blog. You are most welcome to share the same.

  6. LOL… Shawn, would it ONLY be men? I’m finding the entire exercise annoying…

    🙂

  7. You won’t believe this, but I just caught up on MONTHS of your blog. Forgive me, for I have 4000 feeds in my bloglines and eventually I will get to them all. So I am now caught up on the kids going to college, squicky conversations with your daughter’s boyfriend, and the various trials and tribulations of your business and life in general. Do you all own a driving school? I couldn’t figure that part out. 🙂

  8. There is a great deal to be said for sleeping alone 🙂

  9. So true, Truce…

Leave a Reply

