Golf at the Indianapolis 500

It’s called the Brickyard, and it’s super cool. You start out somewhere outside the race track, and in the middle, several holes are right inside the center of the track. It’s a popular place, and it was busy that day.

The course is really nice. Lush grass, well tended. The carts had GPS. It’s a tough course too, but Mr. Demonic’s friend is a good golfer, who likes nice, tough courses. Me, I could putz around on a city course, and I’d be just as happy.

I was amazed at how big the place was. The track seems to go on forever, and there are plenty of boxes lined along the way. Likewise, the inside of the track is massive. I’m not much for racing, so I wasn’t aware.

Friday, there were several cars racing. Why, I don’t know. I always thought they only raced the 500, but obviously they use the track all year long. When we crossed over to the inside of the track, we could watch them as they sped around.

Now, for updates on my golf game:

1. The weather was very nice, so I couldn’t use that as an excuse.

2. My back wasn’t hurting, so I couldn’t use that excuse.

3. I have a great set of golf clubs (Lady Callaways), so I couldn’t use that excuse.

4. I had Arby’s for lunch, so I couldn’t use the excuse that I was hungry. It was a junior sandwich, so I couldn’t use the excuse that I was overfull.

5. I had plenty of drugs (Benadryl and Motrin), so I couldn’t use that excuse.

Let’s just say that I hit some good shots, but I hit more bad ones than good. I always feel guilty when I golf on a nice course with thick grass, such as the Brickyard. That is because I tend to hack up the course.

Perhaps I should get out on the course more than once every two months.

9 Responses

  1. The image that immediately came to mind was of golfers playing golf in the middle of the Indianapolis 500 Race, with the cars trying to avoid the golfers in the middle of the track as they sped by at 200 mph.

    That would take real skill on the part of the golfers, to avoid hitting and damaging those expensive race cars. Also, some of those race drivers, like Danica, have very bad tempers and might hit you.

    I am all for innovative sports events, but I have my doubts about this one. I understand why you are taking some strong drugs while playing.

  2. I think just the fact that you ATE at Arby’s is a good excuse!

  3. For me, with golf, its the clothes. I just can’t get over the clothes.

    And don’t start me on the footwear…

  4. RN, there is a tunnel that goes under the track for the golfers to use. Otherwise, I think the blood would get into the way.

    Truce, dear, they now make the cutest little mini-skorts for golf. I still have decent legs, so I wear them. 🙂

  5. Last night, apperently a couple of automobile drivers tried to run the Indianapolis 500 on the ferry I ride. I may write a post about it.

    I have seen golf clubs on the ferry, though I have not seen golf balls flying by.

  6. It would be cool to hit a golf ball off a ferry! You don’t have to worry about beaning someone by accident.

    Have you seen any golf mini-skorts on the ferry? You wouldn’t be able to miss that.

  7. Dude, I totally would have blamed it on the Benadryl.

  8. Pande,

    I a friend who is an ex-jock, but only plays once a year. He has a 36 handicap. I posted on him last week.

    Golf is a strange game. Once a fan saw a pro golfer smoking a cigarette. She said, “You shouldn’t smoke- You’re an athlete.

    He replied, “Ma’am, I ain’t an althlete, I’m a golfer.”

    Dr. B

  9. Ha, ha… Dr. B, that’s hilarious.

Leave a Reply

