Doggy Visit

The Demonics have been toying with the idea of adopting a dog. Well, that would be THIS Demonic.

I don’t want a big dog, or one that that needs a lot of attention. In reality, I’m a cat person, but Mr. Demonic has stolen my cat! Well… Maxx wasn’t really my cat, he was my daughter’s. Now he likes Mr. D the best.

My thought is that we need some more fur in the house. Plus, another animal would keep the cat entertained. He needs something to do during the day, because right now he sleeps all day and keeps us up all night.

It’s also important to find good homes for homeless animals. Maxx was a shelter cat, and I rescued him. And look at him now… Fat and sassy, living the high life. My brother-in-law runs a shelter for German shorthair pointers in LA. Their house always has a full contingent of foster dogs. I like that rescues try to find suitable homes for throwaway animals. It’s hard to believe, but a lot of people think of their pets as interchangeable as a pair of shoes. A lot of rescue animals came from puppy mills, discarded after their years as a breeder were over.

My sister has two Boston terriers. I like how her dogs are well behaved, friendly, and don’t bark or shed a lot. They’re also compact and don’t take much space. So I did some research, starting back about six months ago. I went on the web site and filled out an application, and waited.

The Boston terrier people are fanatical about their dogs. I had to go through an application process, where I listed all of my references. They asked me how I felt about fencing and crating, discipline and training. They then would decide whether or not I was good enough to be a Boston parent.

This week, I made an appointment for a home visit. This is where one of the rescue workers comes over to check out my house and make sure I wasn’t going to use the dog to fight professionally or pull my sled in the winter.

Yesterday, a very nice dog came for a visit, along with his foster mom. His name is Henry. You can see what he looks like here. He’s really a handsome little dog.

Maxx was non-committal, but Henry wanted to play with him. Then Henry found Maxx’s big fleece ball and started playing with that. Maxx was a little upset. Mr. Demonic was non-committal too, but he was doing the dishes, and heaven help us if I interrupt that.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about Henry ever since.

I wonder what that means…

14 Responses

  1. Sounds like a winner! The picture link doesn’t work, though.

  2. I couldn’t get to the picture, either. But, I know what Boston Terriers look like.

    I think Pan is headed for Doggie-Mommydom. You’re doomed.

  3. Random Granddaughter’s two momies are hardcore cat people. RG is quite fond of Sylvie, the saint of pussycats, but she is also a bit fascinated with dogs, so I expect interesting pet adventures some day in the future.

  4. I fixed the link.

    I emailed the foster mom… Do you think I sound too interested? Desperate? Gawd… It’s just like dating…

    🙂

  5. Henry. Hee! He’s a cutie.

  6. Do it! Do it! He’ll keep Maxx from turning into the mean, house-dominating likes of a certain Spike I know…

  7. I think it means Henry is about to be a very lucky boy.

    Emailing is a good idea. They want him to have a home where he will be loved, and it shows that you already do.

    I adopted an older dog two years ago. They are so happy when they get a new forever home.

  8. I love when they call it a “forever” home!

    I hope I’m not sounding like some kind of whacko pet lover… That would really damage my rep.

    🙂

  9. As long as the pets are whacko, it’s all right. As long as you stay perfectly normal…

  10. I looked at the picture and read the “single pet” singles ad. Those guys are good copyrighters! They should start doing singles ads for people.

    One for David, for example.

  11. He’s adorable. I’m sure he’ll be part of your family soon, and oh, the tales you’ll tell!

  12. I’m not a dog person either. I am still afraid of them. We’ve always had cats. However, while I stayed with an aunt, I fell in love with her dog. A great big black lab. He is the most well behaved dog I have ever seen. He’s like her baby. He goes everywhere with her. He even sits outside the bathroom and waits for her. He doesn’t beg for food at the table. He doesn’t hog the attention. He is just such a sweet dog. He’s well trained and came from the pound. It makes me think that some day, maybe I could have a doggie like that, although I can’t where I live because they don’t allow dogs over 40 pounds.

    I think you’ll know the right doggie when you see him. Have you looked at any others?

  13. Not yet, Corina.

    I admit the right dog will come and I’ll know. I felt that way about Maxx. The other two, no. That’s because my daughter wanted them and I didn’t.

    There are misbehaving dogs, but I think their people might have a bit to do with it.

  14. I’m not a dog person but I assume that you’ll know.

Leave a Reply

