New Guilty Pleasure (Hobby)

Something happened to me a month ago.

I picked up some beads, and after that my entire world changed.

Some people have crack habits, others smoke cigarettes or drink. Me, I go to Michael’s and my eyes glaze over in the bead section.

Last weekend, I went to another bead show. It was that fiendish bead show at the beginning of September that caused all the problems for me. If you’ve never been to an auditorium filled with colorful rocks from all over the globe, I’m warning you now. Don’t go. You’ll be sucked into the vortex like a hapless space traveler.

Last weekend’s show concentrated on actual beadwork. You know, beaded handbags and such. I’m still in the jewelry making mode, and the intricate designs looked daunting. There were charming handmade clay beads, and cha cha bracelets that looked too fun. I was actually looking for sterling silver and semi-precious stones like tiger eye and turquoise, but somehow found myself buying hearts of many types. (My designs tend to gravitate towards hearts and crosses right now.)

During NaNoWriMo (in November, not far off), I plan on putting my Pandemonic blog on the back burner. I think I’ll be putting my beads back there too, along with house cleaning, Christmas shopping, learning Japanese and playing Scramble on Facebook. When I’m able, I’ll just post photos of my beads.

So if you don’t hear from me, I’ll be in one of two places. Hopefully, not in Michael’s again…

9 Responses

  1. pretty pretty pretty . . . 🙂

  2. So, whatcha making for me? 🙂

  3. I love hearts and crosses. hint hint

  4. pandemonic,

    I will be sending you a secret email message about beads. I probably won’t have time to send it until tomorrow, but please check your email by tomorrow night. This is very scandalous stuff.

  5. Oh my, the bead addiction. I know that one well. My problem is that I buy beads just because they are pretty, but I haven’t a clue what I will make with them. I’ve done a couple of earrings and bracelets, but I have the supplies for so much more. But when it comes to coming up with an original design I just get stymied. But the beads, they are soooo pretty. Must have must have . . .

  6. 🙂

    I can’t wait for your message, RN.

    As for my friends, they will be getting something pretty cool for Christmas, right Little Fluffy Cat?

    Lazy Buddist. If you ever want to liquidate, let me know. At this point, I either run out of material or run out of findings. Never at the same time, of course.

  7. Nice job! I put mine away when my mom came to visit. I’m hoping to make a few things before and during Nanowrimo. I’ve learned that doing too much writing during Nanowrimo is counter-productive, at least for me. So I take breaks and I even schedule two days a week to do NO writing at all.

    I would love to go to a bead show. I’ve never been to one!

  8. A girl can never have too many pretty rocks, thats what I say. You should see my jewellery box…

  9. Pande,

    My wife digs those beads too. She can work on them in the car- hard to take your loom on the road.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

