The Last of the Tomatoes

We’ve had a really nice, long growing season this year. It’s October 17, and I still have tomatoes. My house plants are still on the deck.

I know it’s not going to last long, but I’m going to take it. There have been many years when we were covered in snow by October 16. As some might know, I do not like winter. In fact, I despise it. One of these days, when I hit the lottery or the economy comes back (which is much like hitting the lottery), I hope to move somewhere where the sun shines more than half the year. Somewhere reasonably warm all the time. If I never see snow again, it will be too soon for me.

When the season draws to a close, the garden looks a little ratty. The tomatoes are smaller and thicker, and they ripen faster on the window sill. The basil is leggy and overgrown. The oregano suffers from some sort of bug eating it. Even the chives look a bit droopy. I have some sort of squash growing, but I’m not sure if it’s an eating squash or a gourd. It’s very peculiar looking. The brussels sprouts are starting to bulk up. Even in the Tundra, we don’t pick them until December.

The good thing about fall is that the squirrels have a bounty of acorns on the ground, so they are leaving the veggies alone. I still wish there was some sort of squirrel birth control…

I don’t like the fall. Oh, sure, the trees are pretty when the colors turn, but the air is a bit brisk. Fall is the prelude to winter, the season I really dread. It could be my age, but I don’t think so. I’ve never caught on to the Winterwonderland school of thought, even though I’ve lived in the Tundra for 20 years and in the Deep Tundra for 11 years before that. Unlike some who embrace frigid temperatures, cold and snow, I recoil from it all. If I could get away with sleeping from the end of November to late March, I would.

Last year, my physician and I did an assessment. I had always suspected, but wasn’t sure, that I had Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD). In looking over my history, we found that I was only depressed during the winter. This knowledge is helpful. Instead of waiting until I’m in a sad and lethargic coma, I get my medicine in advance of the days growing shorter and colder.

It’s not retirement in a sunny, temperate climate, but it’ll do in the meantime.

8 Responses

  1. Play that violin in the winter too Pande. I couldn’t get by without my mandolin. I’m not sure I could survive in the frozen tundra.

    Dr. B

  2. Of course there is birth control for squirrels. Grab the nearest gentleman squirrel, teach it how to put a little condom on with its clevel little claws, and tell it to frisk with the nearest lady squirrel.

    Or, if it’s more convenient, grab the nearest lady squirrel, teach it to insert a diaphragm in its little squirrel hole, and then tell it to wave its fetching tail at the nearest frisky gentleman squirrel.

    However, don’t try this with chipmunks. I know this from actual experience.

    Don’t ask.

  3. I’m glad your SAD was diagnosed. I think knowing the diagnosis helps deal with it in the long run. My daughter has it and is trying to figure out how she’ll do with it up in Oregon where it rains most days from November til Spring! I’m thinking we should invest in one of those lamps for her. It can’t hurt!

    Gee, I still wish I knew how to plant stuff. I’m hoping I will find someone to teach me by the planting season next year. I want tomatoes, and zucchini and other stuff, too! I want flowers!

  4. Dr. B, you should see what the winter does to my violin! Of course, it’s a newer one, so the wood is still adjusting. My teacher’s violin is 200 years old and she rarely has to tune it. Mine goes completely wacky with the lack of humidity and cold house.

    Mr. Random, that was a charming tale about squirrel birth control. I had to laugh! It reminds me of a story… maybe I’ll write about it.

    And Corina, next spring, give me a call. If I can get there, I’ll help you plant! 🙂

  5. Birth control for squirrels = Outside cat

  6. Yep. Nothing takes the frisk right out of you faster than being put on the luch menu. 😉

  7. Pan, you can humidify your house, you know, particularly whatever room you keep your violin in, you know. Get a humidifier and one of those things that tells you how much is in the room.

  8. Yep! It’s already on. It keeps the piano better tuned too.

Leave a Reply

