Time Sucking Headache and Other Stuff

I don’t know if I can work on my novel today.

Yesterday, I reached the over 26K mark for November, just slightly over halfway for NaNoWriMo. In the total novel-picture, I’m sliding down past halfway. The end is in sight. Of course, it took me a year and a half to get to this point, but I’m hoping that I have learned a valuable lesson in time management this month. Either that, or I’ll return to my procrastinating ways and won’t be finished for another year and a half.

I would be working on my book today, but I have a killer headache. I’ve been treating it with advil because I also have a killer neck ache from sleeping like a pretzel last night. That is because Maxx the cat bed-hogged my side of the bed and I couldn’t turn over. Mr. Demonic claimed that as a result, I was bed-hogging his side of the bed. No way, Jose. I was contorted and couldn’t move.

There are other time sucking problems. Our manager at work ended up in the hospital a week ago last Monday. He’s 60 and an only child. Mr. D tried to call his mother over on the Left Coast of the state, and that took three days. She’s 87, and what happened was Mr. D had someone pick her up from her city and bring her to ours. The sick man wanted her to stay in his apartment, but we ended up having her stay with us. That’s because the sick (and hopefully soon to be permanently disabled) man was living in filth and squalor. No really. Think “garbage house” and multiply that by 1000.

Now before someone starts yelling at me about being the Man and putting my employees down, not paying them a decent wage, blah, blah, blah… the sick man actually gets paid pretty damn well. Too well. He’s spent the last six months sleeping six hours each day on the job. The girls and I would wake him on a regular basis. My husband, the boss and the infamous Mr. D, was largely unimpressed. In fact, he was getting madder and madder by the day, and had planned on speaking with the sick man the week the guy ended up in the hospital. Obviously, he had to put that plan on the back burner.

The sick man is a terrible smoker. He’s also an alcoholic. No, really. I mean, severely alcoholic. We had an indication when we have had the opportunity to be in social situations with the guy. If left to make his own drink, it would consist of 99% alcohol and 1% mix. He’s also done some very annoying and embarrassing things while drunk. It is more than likely that his grave condition was due to smoking and drinking. The mother has no clue. Her ex-husband (the sick man’s father) recently died. He was a big smoker and drinker. (Duh.)

Yesterday, the sick man was finally released from the hospital. I bid a teary farewell to the mother. I have a feeling she is going to be waging an uphill battle with the sick guy. She might be older than dirt, but she’s a nice woman, and deserves a better son than the one she has. His mood to her of late has been testy and mean, and that pisses me off. She’s so sweet. She knows about my novel and is very supportive. In fact, instead of talking, she let me go off for a few hours and write, while she watched TV. We exchanged phone numbers and addresses, and I told her if she needed anything at all to call me.

The sick man must have oxygen for the next six months. He hasn’t said what is wrong with him, although he did reveal that his blood has no oxygen and his red blood cell count is high. When I went to the hospital to visit him, his legs were completely black from the knees down, and the skin was like an elephant’s. It was totally gross. If someone knows what condition that is, I’d appreciate a head’s up.

It’s also been snowing the past couple of days. Grace, the dog, does not like to go outside to do her business in this cold weather. I’m not so happy about it either. She sometimes #2s in the house, but that’s not a problem, unless someone steps in it. Thankfully, that hasn’t happened much.

And of course, times are getting tougher. I don’t think there’ll be much for Christmas. That’s okay. The holiday has lost its meaning if you ask me. I might even go to church, although not the one affiliated with my kids’ school. I need a place where there’s not a lot of singing. My head and all, you know.

Anyway, today I have a headache.

That is all.

11 Responses

  1. Ouch, sorry to hear about the headache. More drugs, that’s what I say. And rest.

    Congratulations on the 26k word mark! Excellent progress 🙂

    Hmmm, the manager’s condition doesn’t sound good – I have watched enough ‘House’ and ‘ER’ to know that black elephant skin legs is not good, but more than that I don’t know. I’m guessing something must have happened to the blood supply to his legs, though. Yuk. His poor mother.

    Today I will be thankful that I don’t have an alcoholic son with black elephant skin legs who is mean to me.

  2. And I will be grateful for that and that I have friends who are persevering and working hard and getting their novels done.

  3. I’m uh…persevering.

    Your sick manager, the hoarder, sounds like one sick puppy. There’s a place for you in heaven for keeping him as long as you did.

  4. Hi. I miss more frequent posts from you, but I do get why you’ve been absent. Good job on the writing!

    I hit 26K yesterday and kept going. I’m currently at 33K and have time to write now at a coffee shop where I have been sitting for the past three hours but someone just started smoking so I don’t know if I can stay much longer. The smoke really gets to me. So we’ll see.

  5. Sorry about the headache. I’m with Truce, drugs and rest sound about right.

    I think when that happens to a part of your body it means that it is dying. The guy is probably headed for amputation. It happened to a friends toe and she lost her leg to the knee.

    Don’t get too upset with Grace. Dogs in new homes almost always break training, and her’s sounds pretty easy to deal with.
    When you find it, show it to her, and firmly say, “No.” Then show her where she should go. With an older dog, it should only take two or three times for her to get it.

  6. Hey. A few things:

    Mr. D is going to meet with the sick man tomorrow. He is going to urge a disability.

    It warmed up a little. When a person considers 30 degrees warm, you know that winter has arrived. Grace has been good at going outside. She knows when she does wrong. The first thing she does is go to her crate and look guilty. Cat pee or Dog doo-doo??? I’ll take the dog any time.

    And Corina, you are amazingly fast! And making me jealous.

  7. Oh, dear.

    I believe you manager is on his last legs.

    Uh.

    Was that insensitive?

  8. Yeah, I gave NaNoWriMo a try. I think I should do some planning beforehand instead of realizing on November 1st that it’s National Novel Writing Month. Yeah. Duh. Good luck, though! Don’t give up writing! I’ll try to take my own advice.

  9. I’m just writing grim, depressing posts on my blog, so stay away.

  10. Hey Ms. Pande,

    Those old novels will wear you out, huh?

    I took last night off and played music till 2:00am, and was Doc today. Now I’m ready rock ‘n roll again.

    Dr. B

  11. Rock and roll. Music of the gods.

Leave a Reply

