It’s the End of the World (As We Know It)

I hate to sound like a real downer, but with the world scene of the last six months or so, I am thinking it’s the End of the World (as we know it).

I’m not alone. Mr. Demonic, who is infinitely wiser than I when it comes to this kind of stuff (but knows nothing about picking correct paint colors for our lobby waiting room, and also doesn’t know jack about gardening), is preparing for Armageddon. He recently took a firearms class and applied for his concealed weapons permit. He hasn’t bought a hand gun yet, but he’s waiting for the after-Christmas sale at the local K-Mart. Mr. D thinks when the threads of civilization finally unravel, he will be ready to defend the homestead. As for me, I’m thinking I might have to shoot my own dinner. Squirrel fricassee, anyone?

You know me, I’m a master stasher of foodstuffs. When the world economy collapses and there’s no money or credit to buy a Big Mac, I will have a pantry lined in canned tomatoes, pickles and corn.

My latest “oops! we did it again” moment came when I turned on the news (to get the weather forecast–I hate the news–actually, I hated the weather forecast this morning too, freezing rain and a drop in temperatures) and learned that the governor of Illinois was arrested for trying to sell our future president’s soon to be vacated senate seat.

Now I don’t live in Illinois, but we have had plenty of corruption here in my rust belt city. They say the only way you can get someone in city government to look at your sewer or for a building or fire inspector to come in and okay a structure is to approach the person in charge with a hundred dollar bill and a bottle of Jack Daniels.

I’m thinking that’s how Rome fell; just a little corruption that grew into something bigger.

Corruption is not limited to the state of Illinois, although I must say, they set the gold standard. I’m not a dinosaur, but I remember learning about Tammany Hall in junior high school. One of my uncles palled around with Al Capone, and was always one step ahead of the G-guys. Things have not changed for the better but have only gotten worse.

And now, with the economy taking a nosedive into the abyss, all of this bad behavior comes to the fore. This kind of “news” coverage gives creedence and great ideas to people who are only sitting on the fence of impropriety. Knowing that one doesn’t need much chutzpah to bribe a [insert title here] is just the sort of impetus that certain wind blowers need.

Add to all this hoo-hah those Third World countries with one finger on the nuclear trigger, the depletion of natural resources, the disintegration of the family, I’m thinking that our civilization is going to implode at any moment now.

That’s why I’m lining my crawlspace with down pillows and putting my penny collection in the safe.

9 Responses

  1. There’s a quote in Broadcast News I’ve always liked — something the Albert Brooks character says about how things don’t fall apart in a big way, they fall apart in a small way, little slides — but everywhere. And that it gets excused and overlooked and passed by till all of the sudden — the world ends.

    On the up side, go look here:
    http://aleksandreia.wordpress.com/2008/12/10/service-or-how-we-can-all-create-greatness-in-the-world/
    I started my morning with that, it made me feel much better.

  2. Oh, you wacky optimist!!!

  3. If you see four horsemen riding down the street, hide.

  4. Luke 21:9-11 “But when ye shall hear of wars and commotions, be not terrified: for these things must first come to pass; but the end is not by and by. Then said he unto them, Nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: And great earthquakes shall be in divers places, and famines, and pestilences; and fearful sights and great signs shall there be from heaven.”
    20 ” And when ye shall see Jerusalem compassed with armies, then know that the desolation thereof is nigh..”
    25-28 “And there shall be signs in the sun, and in the moon, and in the stars; and upon the earth distress of nations, with perplexity; the sea and the waves roaring; Men’s hearts failing them for fear, and for looking after those things which are coming on the earth: for the powers of heaven shall be shaken.
    And then shall they see the Son of man coming in a cloud with power and great glory. And when these things begin to come to pass, then look up, and lift up your heads; for your redemption draweth nigh.”

  5. Thanks for the reminder, Shawn. I knew I saw that somewhere before! 🙂

  6. My heart has been failing me for fear for a long time now, so I know how you feel. It’s been very painful to have seen this coming for the past five years, but to have everyone around me telling me I was a paranoid nutcase.

  7. Will doctor for food.

    Dr. B

  8. Hey, David. The rest of the country is two years behind us. You haven’t seen the worst of it yet, and neither have we.

    At least you can doctor for food, Dr. B. I’m thinking I will be growing my own urban food, and praying for rain because we can’t afford to water the garden.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

