Lower Tundra Weather Update

It’s friggin’ freezing outside! No, it’s Super-Friggin’ cold!

Well, let me amend that. It’s 15 degrees and dropping. The wind is blowing gusts of 45 mph, meaning I don’t care how well your house is built, it feels like you’re outside if you’re unlucky enough to sit by a window. I am thusly unlucky, since most of my house is window. With the wind gusts, it’s about 0 degrees counting windchill. Needless to say, my wind chimes are rocking.

The dog went out, peed quickly, and came back inside. She wouldn’t do #2 outside, and instead picked a nice spot right by the door. (I can’t blame her, not on a day like today.) The cat poked his head out for less than a second and thought better of the game of having Mr. Demonic chase him around the yard. Besides, there’s about a foot of snow, making small animals going into the yard look like they are drowning in snow drifts.

Mr. D went out to plow the lots. Not with the plow, mind you, because we don’t have a plow. With a snowblower and snow shovel. One lot is about 10,000 square feet, almost an acre. With the wind blowing as it is, I am thinking it is an exercise in futility, but you can’t tell him anything.

I hear that even my southern neighbors are getting a nice dose of winterly blast. So much for global warming.

It’s only 11 a.m., but I’m going to get myself a hot toddy.

10 Responses

  1. I feel your pain.

    It’s so cold that I need to wear a hat inside today. This wind is ridiculous!

  2. I just found out, first hand, what “freezing rain” is. I don’t like it.

  3. We had several inches of snow and temperatures of 12 degrees. Also the power went off in at midnight so we woke to a dark, cold house. (Power restored at 8:30).

    Tried to get car out of driveway (long winding hill). No go.

    Whine, whine, whine.

  4. We’re having some pretty wild temp swings here. 28 one day and 72 the next. Tonight I’m just sick of listening to the faucets drip.

  5. Yep, even the southerners are getting it.
    It’s 24 degrees, with gusts and sustained winds, making the chill factor below or near zero.
    It sucks.

  6. I think we should get out some wine, wine, wine, to go with the whine, whine, whine. And I am thinking a certain Truce should invite us to spend our winter in her place.

  7. brrrrrrrrr.

    Its a balmy 30 degrees centigrade here in sunny Sydney. I’m wearing flip flops.

    Come on over, I’ll chuck another shrimp on the bbq for you…

  8. Yeah, it’s no fun here in Portland, either. I went outside today for the first time since Friday, and came riiiight back in.

  9. Heck Ms. Pande,

    I’m still playin golf!

    If you get a chance leave me a comment about book stores in the frozen tundra- see today’s post. I have started to plan my tour.

    Dr. B

  10. Dr. B, I was just going to suggest that perhaps you need another patient. It would be worth the trip for me.

Leave a Reply

