Conspicuously Absent

I’m not posting much here these days, but I’m not sorry. The Little Cat would be proud to know that I’ve been typing my fingers to the bone, working on my novel. I have given myself a deadline of my birthday (coming up fast) to finish this epic tome. I plan on shipping it to several people 1. to read to gauge the enjoyment factor, and 2. for editing purposes as soon as it’s complete.

At over 435 pages and growing (double spaced), I have the end in sight. I know how it’s going to end and am giving myself seven, maybe eight chapters to get there. Hallelujia and pass the friggin’ pitcher of margaritas. Well, maybe not yet. Maybe for my birthday. Yeah, I know that 10% will likely be edited out.

I am seriously trying to overcome my deficiency when it comes to time management, procrastination and general laziness. These are lifelong character flaws that I am finding difficult to correct. However, this is not to say that I’m rolling over and dying in the goopy soup that is my character. I may be old, but you can always teach an old dog new tricks.

Hmm… maybe not my old dog, Grace. She appears to be set in her ways.

Other news from the tundra? Well, the prodigal daughter is still here. Three more weeks. I’m not sure I can stand it. Yes, I love her, but she drives me nutty, as I am sure I am doing to her too. Plus, she tries to read over my shoulder. She knows I’m writing a book and wants to know if she’s in it. (No. That will be the next book. Bwaaahhh wahhh wahh…) Normally, I can’t work under that kind of pressure, but I’m trying.

So, I’m absent. Here, but not here.

See you later.

7 Responses

  1. Keep up the good work.

    And don’t be surprised if a lot more than 10% is cut out in the end. I think the norm is about 25 to 30 per cent. But this will still give you a good length novel!

  2. Just so long as you’re okay, that’s the main thing.

    In my experience working in publishing – the more you edit out, the better the end result. Unless you’re James Joyce. And, let’s face it, who actually reads that rubbish??? 😉

    Go Pan!

  3. *turning a little green with envy*

    You go! Give the kiddo a to do list and watch her disappear.

  4. I am lazy too, Pande. If it hadn’t been for medicine I would have starved to death.

    Dr. B

  5. Ten percent? 30, 40, 50… 🙂 GO PAN! The Little Cat is, indeed, proud of you. 🙂

  6. Thanks all.

    Oh, wow. 50 percent lopped off the top? It will feel like my baby will be amputated! Somewhere I read it was 10%. I think that was out of Stephen King’s book on writing. However, I’m up for the challenge. Bring it on, suckkaaass… 🙂

  7. I’m with Shawn re: the To Do List. Nothing makes a teenager disappear faster than chores…

Leave a Reply

