Strange Airplane Dreams

As the Little Fluffy Cat knows, my plate is overflowing right now, but I thought I would post a couple disturbing dreams I’ve had just in the last couple of days. Hopefully, these aren’t psychic in nature and are just the result of the madness going on around me (and in me). So in the interest of getting a second opinion, I’ll let you be the judge.

Dream 1: My husband and I are on a big airplane, probably a 757. I have the middle seat, and he has the aisle. This is because Mr. Demonic is incredibly tall and I am a midget and can fit anywhere, including the backseat of an AMC Hornet and inside my high school locker. We are leaving our Tundra town. If you knew where I lived and were familiar with the airport, you would know that planes have to taxi practically to the next state to take off. Anyway, we are driving along, Mr. D furiously scribbling notes on a pad, and me paying attention to the flight attendant. (This is because as a one-time flight attendant wannabe, I know that their jobs are vital to the safety of passengers. I want to know where my closest exit is.)

At last, it is our turn to depart. The plane takes off slowly. It doesn’t feel right. Sure, it’s a big plane, and it’s practically magic how something so huge can get off the ground to begin with. We are hovering what seems to be only fifty feet from the tarmac. All of a sudden the plane shoots straight up with a tremendous burst of speed. When I mean straight up, I mean perpendicular to the ground. Mr. D and I are facing the heaven, our backs glued to the seats. I grab him and say “This is the end” or something stupid like that.

My next sensation is that the plane does a somersault. I’m pretty sure we are toast.

Then I wake up in a sweat.

Dream #2: The entire Demonic family is taking a trip by plane. It’s a 747, you know, the one with upstairs and downstairs. We’re going to London, don’t ask me why. I have never been and have no desire to go there. It’s not our usual carrier of choice, but an upstart.

Mr. D has secured for us the back of the plane. If you are familiar with train travel, you know that to travel comfortably across country, the best route is to get a sleeping car. We’ve done this on many occasions, especially when my daughter was a baby, my son was a little boy and he was in love with trains. We’ve had the family suite, and it’s great with little kids. Anyway, in the dream, this air carrier had what looked to be a sleeping area. For $150 per person extra, we had our own enclosed space with pull down beds. The airline said we could stay in the sleeping area for our entire stay in London. There were two of these areas, and another family occupied the other one.

When we took off, we were unencumbered by seat belts, and while it was scary, we survived. We laughed, we drank champagne, we ate chocolate. When we arrived in London, everyone else departed, and it was  just us and this other family. The flight attendants tried to get us to deplane as well. They were surly and rude in fact, and were shooing us off. Both Mr. D and the father of the other family were up in arms. They protested with shouts of “but we paid $150 each to stay here!”  We had no other lodging in London and for some reason couldn’t get anything else. The head flight attendant said that the extra charge was just for the trip across the pond. If we didn’t get off, we would be going to Egypt with the rest of the flight. (!)

I woke up again in a sweat.

I don’t think I’m going to sleep anymore.

7 Responses

  1. You’re just nervous about your trip, Pan. I see all, or most all, of the elements in there. It’s combining with your other worries about the businesses and money.

  2. Having said that, if anyone ever offers you accommodation in London for a week for $150, you’ll know they’re actually offering a small, soggy, cardboard box under Vauxhall Bridge. And that’s not one of the nice bridges.

  3. In college, my roommate dreamed he was flying a straight drive helicoptor and kept missing the gears.

    Dr. B

  4. Seems your family and money worries are translating to plane rides.

  5. My two cents:

    You are obviously worried about your whole life spinning out of control. At least with the first one, it is. The second one may have to do with feeling like you’ve done what you’re supposed to but someone is changing the rules on you and causing you upheaval.

  6. I hate plane dreams. They always end in disaster.

    I once had a dream that I was standing outside the runway at the Minneapolis airport. Before 911, you could drive to this one section and watch the planes take off and land. The runway ends right at a highway, and then there is the Mississippi River. I doubt you could get that close now. In my dream, a plane crashed right before my eyes. I could feel the rush of flying debris and hot airplane fuel as it burned.

    A little while later in real life, we were flying into Minneapolis and they couldn’t get the plane’s brakes to work. So we circled the airport for what seemed like an hour while they assembled fire trucks and ambulances. My kids thought it was hilarious, but honest to God, I was praying. It was a rough landing, but we didn’t end up in the river!

Leave a Reply

