Scary Times

Sorry if this post is a downer, but I believe we are heading into scary times.

I don’t know if the culture is out of whack, or just the politicians. I’m fairly certain the politicians are on a destructive course of action. Because they’re all millionaires or better, they’re so out of touch with the Real World, it’s unfathomable. The culture, I’m not so sure. Every now and then, I’ll find pockets of sensibility, but for the most part, I think the world at large is selfish and consuming.

Everyone is throwing money around as if you could grow a field of it and harvest it next September. Of course, no one is throwing money at me, not that I would want that anyway. There’s a certain satisfaction in working hard to reap your rewards, and I’m not afraid of working. I guess you have to have friends in high places in order to get a lucky freebie catch.

I won’t even go into how crazy this is making Mr. Demonic. Even though we are losing a child deduction and expense come May 23rd when said adult person is graduating from college, it’s not going to make life any easier. I believe he’s gotten more gray and wrinkly in the last two months.

I am ashamed and afraid to say this, but I foresee a world where no one except the select few have anything, and those people will have everything. The rest of us will be like cattle or sheep, living off the crumbs of the rich. It won’t just be the value of the dollar shrinking, the value of anything good and right will drop to nothing. This includes creativity and freedom. I already see where the arts in my area are losing funding. No one has the money to donate.

I fear the future world that I have no say so in my own decisions.

6 Responses

  1. Ms Pande,

    I agree; these are very scary times.

    All I know to do is try to be good to my patients, play music, write, and pray for the best.

    Dr. B

  2. What goes around comes around.

    That’s a simplistic way to look at it. Everything is cyclical and balances out. That’s not a help in the “now” when things pretty much suck.

    I’m not making much sense, much like these times.

  3. All I can do is share my mantra with you, Pan, which appears to be much like Dr. Tom’s — we don’t get to choose what happens, we only get to choose how we deal with it. If we keep putting what good we can into the system, eventually good will start coming back out again. As Stevo said, it’s cyclical. Just keep telling yourself that. {{{Pan}}}

  4. ((Pan))

    Yes, it’s scary, but it’s much less scary for those of us who have already learned to live on a budget and make do.
    Work hard and pray harder.

  5. I experience two levels of perception of the issues you discuss.. On the one hand, I expect human civilization to collapse before the end of the century. I regard human beings as the equivalent of the five year old child in the attic with some loaded guns.

    On the other hand, my granddaughter is a lovely five year old child with a supposedly genius level IQ. So I have to imagine that she will grow into a happy, creative, positive, successful future.

    I think this is known as “double-think.”

  6. “I expect human civilization to collapse before the end of the century.”

    Well, I hope not, but it doesn’t look good, does it?

    All I can do is the best that I can.

Leave a Reply

