A Pain in the Neck

I have a referral for the physical therapist, because I have a pain in my neck.

Said pain developed after going to the writers’ conference. For three days, I schlepped my bag around, which contained a computer, business cards, phone, credit card, pens and plenty of synopsis (synopses?) of my book. My bag weighed about 15 pounds.

I have a recurring neck problem, and I’m not supposed to carry anything bigger than a small wallet. This was hard to do when first ordered by my doctor. In the good old days of good necks (and other younger things), I used to carry a purse the size of a small suitcase. My cell phone was one of those enormous monster flip phones, and I had to have snacks, ready change, napkins, sunglasses, etc. My kids were younger, so it doubled as a diaper bag. This way I would only have one bag and not two.

My current choice for purse is one of those small organizer things that looks like a wallet with a long shoulder strap. I have a closet full of those. For most days, I just need a license, a credit card, my checkbook and a pen. Oh, and my cell phone, but I’ve taken to putting that in my pocket, now that I don’t have a Blackberry.

I came back from the conference a month ago, but I’ve been putting off the doctor visit until this week. That’s because 1. I don’t like going and 2. our insurance sucks. But on Friday, I had to make an appointment. That’s because I couldn’t turn my head to the right. Being so crippled makes it difficult to drive. It’s also painful.

So now I have to go to the physical therapist, because massive doses of drugs and muscle relaxers aren’t doing anything. Oh, and the heating pad makes it feel better, but not for long.

I knew a psychologist who explained that when people complain of aches and pains, it related directly to their life and may not be so much to their body.  If your shoulders ache, it may be because you feel like you have the world’s problems on your shoulders. Therefore a “pain in the neck” really means that something in my life is figuratively a pain in the neck.

I can think of a thousand things that are “paining” me in the neck right now, but I doubt the physical therapist will help me with that.

10 Responses

  1. If you get a big book deal it won’t make it go away but it will make it easier to live with.

    Dr. B

  2. If you go to another conference you must have a rolling back pack.

  3. Yes. A rolling back pack. Or a computer the size of a credit card.

  4. Get better! (Easy for me to say huh?)

  5. Get a net book. They are 8.9 inches and weigh under 2 pounds WITH the battery! Mine fits in my purse! I would cut down on how much I actually carried with me. Take a large supply but leave it in the hotel room and take just what you will need for that session. Otherwise it won’t be just the neck but the back and shoulder! I know. Don’t do what I did.

  6. I, too, have nothing much smarter or more helpful to say than I help you feel better soon.

  7. I was in that situation back in November. Drugs, physio, etc. For me, using a good backpack, with a padded waistbelt was the answer.

    And a Chinese massage or two.

  8. Sorry to hear … PT is no fun. But you might get some psychological release, or perhaps another novel, out of listing all the things that are metaphorically a pain in the neck.

    Then again, doing that might only lead to developing a pain in your arse.

  9. Weird. I’ve just come back from my first ever physiotherapy session… for a pain in my neck.

    I lifted a heavy air tank while preparing to dive on Friday and pulled something. Couldn’t turn my head to the left for the last 4 days and been unable to sleep or concentrate.

    I was dubious about the physio, but it certainly worked. 🙂

  10. I have pains from lifting a pencil. But of course, I am older than you, Woo.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

