Preparing for My First Recital

My violin teacher has decided to include me in her June recital.

This is momentous! For the last four years, she has tried to tamp down my enthusiasm for playing with others. True, I’m a slow study, but the ambition is there.

I plan on playing some Bartok dances. My husband might accompany me, even though he cannot stand Bartok. Most Bartok doesn’t bother me; in fact, I studied it when I took piano many years ago.

The weird thing is that I’m getting a little nervous. It’s not that the piece is hard; it’s easy. It’s not like I’m playing in front of a hall full of people; we will be entertaining at a nursing home about two blocks from my house. It’s where my teacher’s husband currently resides. He’s 92 years old, fell down a while back and is unable to move himself.

I’ve played nursing homes before. In fact, my church group in high school used to go every Saturday and play guitar. When Ms. MiniD was still here playing flute, she did the same.

Nursing home audiences are grateful for the break in the usual schedule. Sometimes you wonder if they are cognizant of what’s going on around them.

This is a perfect group to practice my chops on. Most of them can’t chase us out of the building, and that’s good.

🙂

7 Responses

  1. It sounds like a good launching point for doing recitals. I’m sure you’ll do a great job! Have fun with it.

  2. You’re so brave! What a very cool thing to do.

  3. “Most of them can’t chase us out of the building, and that’s good.”

    I bet they’d find the strength if I came over to play for them…

    Good for you, though. The residents and staff will enjoy it and it will be a good first step on your way to the Met, right? 😉

  4. Knock ’em out, Ms. Pande.

    Dr. B

  5. That’s wonderful! I’m sure the audience will appreciate it, and hey, most of them probably won’t be able to hear you anyway.

  6. 🙂 That’s what I’m counting on David!

Leave a Reply

