My Memory Fails Me…

I have been seeing my memory slip down the memory meter for the last couple of years.

This is not a good thing.

My paternal grandmother had a severe case of Alzheimer’s syndrome at the end of her life. The last time I saw her, she didn’t even recognize me. She recognized my dad, but none of the other fifteen relatives that were there that day.

I am deathly afraid of Alzheimer’s. The only thing worse than cutting off my fingers would be to have my mind succumb to such a brain sucking illness.

I used to have a memory like the proverbial steel trap. I could remember lyrics after hearing a song only once. I would sit through college classes and not take a note. I somehow passed the test at the post office, which is 99% remembering numbers and letters and 1% correctly marking FOSDIC circles. I knew zip codes, phone numbers for not only my friends and family but for half my employees and my driver’s license number.

Now I can’t remember a movie I saw three weeks ago, Seven Pounds. I know Will Smith was in it but other than that, my mind’s a blank, a total empty white canvas. Either Will Smith or the movie was unforgettable or I’m going nuts.

Food, now, is another thing. I can remember memorable dishes and fine wines. The mediocre, no… but the good and the bad, yes.

My husband, Mr. Demonic is quite the note taker. Every day he sets up a list of things to do in handwriting that resembles chickens scratching at feed. He can read it, which is the most important thing. I used to think it was foolhardy, but now I know he’s just trying to keep it together.

So taking his lead, I have purchased a little notebook for putting down things I might like to remember. Like ideas I have for my book, or names I want to remember. Otherwise I wouldn’t remember a thing.

One of these days I’m going to have to use it to find my way home. I just know it.

4 Responses

  1. It’s an age thing. We forget a lot after that certain age, and for women it gets worse during and after menopause. Don’t worry about Alzheimer’s. Not now. There are early signs that you can look for and even a test you can have done to see if you might get Alzheimer’s.

    You are probably just experiencing the typical age related decline in memory and cognitive processing. Really. Really.

  2. It ain’t that you can’t remember, Pande. It’s just you’ve got more to keep up with than you used to.

    Dr. B

  3. I don’t know, Dr. B. I know you are the expert here, but I think I’m declining… faster than I want.

  4. If it worries you, Pan, then see your Dr. There are new treatments and preventative measures added almost daily. We can’t beat it yet, but we can stall it and put up one heck of a fight.

Leave a Reply

