A Return and Confusion

As one might guess, I’ve been conspicuously absent the last month or so.

I’ve been trying to finish my YA book, which is a little past the half-way point. However, then fall (winter) began to settle in. It sort of snuck up on me unawares. One day, my alarm went off at 5 a.m. and I noticed it was pitch black dark outside. I stayed in bed until 6 a.m., and the darkness didn’t change. It was still like night time.

As some might know, I suspect I have SAD (seasonal affective disorder). This means I get depressed in the winter time. Last year, I got a jump on it by taking my meds in early September. This year I forgot until that morning in the dark.

It takes a few weeks before the medicine kicks in. I found myself driving to the store and my heart began to sink for no reason at all and my eyes clouded up. I made an appointment with the doctor.

It’s hard to be light and breezy (as in writing YA) when you are feeling down in the dumps. So the book came to a slow but crushing halt. I want to finish it before the end of the year, so I have started working on it a little at a time. When faced with the prospects of writing or jumping into bed, I choose the bed more often than not, but I am trying to curb that bad habit.

On the positive news front, I am taking a class, wire wrapping jewelry. This is a very expensive hobby. We are provided copper in the class, but if you want to upgrade to silver or gold you’re on your own.  I’ve met some interesting women in the class. It’s on Tuesday mornings, so I have to make sure the office is covered, but the time away helps. Plus, I am making Christmas presents with my own two hands.

My daughter broke up with her once Mohawk boyfriend this weekend. She’s young and flighty but that doesn’t mean the guy deserved it. It’s too bad. I like all of Ms. MiniD’s boyfriends, usually more than she likes them. Parental approval is the kiss of death for these guys. I’m sure when she finds a no-good wife-beating serial killer that we disapprove of, she will latch on to him.

Other than that, we are hunkering down in the Tundra for another long winter. The first freeze was weeks ago. So much for global warming.

9 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear about the return of your SAD with the onset of winter over there. I think I suffer from it, too, so moving to Sydney was one of the best things I could have done for myself, even if it was unintentional.

    Sometimes bed is the only sensible option. I couldn’t sleep last night due to worrying about various things so I’m overtired today, which doesn’t help the down-in-the-dumps feeling either.

    Good for you for getting out there and doing the new course, too, though. Keeping active helps, even if it is tiring. Plus, think of the lovely Christmas presents you won’t have to trawl round the mall for this year!

    x

  2. Perhaps Ms. MiniD will not marry a no-good wife-beating serial killer. Perhaps she will become the no-good-husband-beating serial killer? If so, let a public defender handle the defense.

    This is a really sick comment. You may delete it if it offends.

  3. I hope the meds kick in soon. I’m also glad you’re taking the wire wrapping class. It gets your mind on something else!

  4. Too cold for golf up there. You’ll just have to write, Pande.

    Dr. B

  5. Hope the meds help soon.

  6. Sorry you’ve been down. I understand this feeling all too well.

    We (amazingly) still haven’t had our first freeze. This morning was a very light, first frost. It was only on the bird feeders and my car. The ground still hasn’t gotten hit, which means that I actually still have flowers. This is also bad news, because it means we haven’t been able to take down the gardens, yet, and will end up using 50 or so yard waste bags while it’s bitter cold.

    Does this constitute as a ramble?

Leave a Reply

